Side Order

13 May

Living in Wichita, KS with its limited amount of men’s wear shopping I’m in constant fear that I will show up wearing the same thing as someone else. So, I have to find creative ways to make myself different.

Nothing is worse than a gargantuan roly-poly showing up to an event in the same blazer and denim as you trust me it’s shameful.

A funky yet conservative way to keep my ensembles apart from the pact other than being a size 31 and s/m are accessories primarily, wrist wear.

I hear most men saying mainly my friend Chandler, “I only dress to serve purpose or function,” These men are usually guys who are still rocking a Live Strong band and class ring as if the only way to prove he does other things than beat off and play video games is to wear his Alma Mater on his knuckles as proof of purchase.

The prime principle in “dressing” is functionality and purpose whereas the prime principle in “fashion” is to emanate character-defining individuality which, just so happens to be my definition of personal style.

Your accessories can be accessorized as well. I realized that all guys must own a watch and I’m not speaking of anything digital to the G-Shock connoisseurs though this is for you as well.

I know everyone feel that a chronicler may be a bit too stuffy and only look good with oxfords, blazers and button downs “Church attire” to most. I personally love a traditional timepiece, most people love shoes I am a watch-aholic. Still, I like to mix up the classic with something new and fun.

For me bracelets plays very well with other kinds of wrist wear i.e. (leather bands, beads, braided leather, steel or hemp). Add a few thoughtfully chosen fashion forward or personal energetic pieces to energize you traditional watch.

My most sapid ways of wearing this trend are; 1. Zany Zestful, 2. Luscious Luxe, 3. Full-Flavored Funk, 4. Toothsome Tribal and 5. Bountiful Bohemian and 6. Palatable Professional.

What’s important about pulling this off is taking your favorite chronometer and mixing it with sublet but standout add-ons to give something fresh to the classic staple. Also, remember you must have an “anchor” this is a bracelet that you always wear no matter what (friendship bracelet, gold chain or cause related.) It’s significant in keeping from coming off as if you are trying too hard.

Please don’t go overboard. I will not be the reason for you looking like a gypsy pimp Mr. T look alike.

7 Responses to “Side Order”

  1. G May 14, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    I’m new to the whole “accessory” trend. I’ve recently gotten into the chain/rosary phenom (partially adopted by our good friend Drew) but I do enjoy them in different style.

    I also look to shoes as a key accessory. I try to buy shoes that are assorted with colors and keep my attire simple. I will take heed to your tips though, because as in Kansas, Louisiana is pretty much the same (except New Orleans – no shade).

    • BougieHippie May 14, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

      I tried to get into shoes but I’m more of a razzle dazzle person so I usually get my shoes and clothes plain and just do add-ons like watches, rings, cufflinks, belts and ties and scarves.

  2. Drew-Shane May 14, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    I feel the same way, no matter where I go. I don’t like anyone to have on what I’m wearing. I dress so simple just because of that. Most people don’t go with the simplistic look these days and I can appreicate. Less people stepping on my toes. I gave up the accessories. I’ll just have on a nice watch and shoe. Once I get some gov’ment refund I’m going to purchase me a few fancy belts, like our friend Gucci.

  3. Nekiah June 27, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    You are just too cute! I love your style. Totally get your watch fetish…I think I have an accessory addiction as well. The funny thing is that I buy it and never wear it!! I have a great Michael Kors oversized watch that I think I’ve had for over a year now and I have only worn about 4 times!! I am currently obsessed with bracelets but I keep them all pretty much the same metal or within the same color family…I think that some folks tend to totally go overboard with the bracelet thing! Thank you so much for your sweet comment. Ironically, my blog is a plus size blog and your blog has anorexia in the title. Can you tell me what’s the purpose of your blog? Thanks! Kiah

    • BougieHippie June 28, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

      Yeah I’m a guy who everything about everything but from a thin person perspective. I’m funny, caring and brash so you get it all. Welcome to my world.
      Bon appètit

  4. Erin November 14, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    Your accessories can be accessorized. No one ever told me!

Leave a Reply

