Down Home Famine

14 Jun

As some of you may know I’m a vegetarian as well as I’m from Dallas, Texas however, the two never seem to correlate. Last month I travelled home to visit my family and friends.

The best part of going home is that I don’t eat because everyone I know is a “meat eater” and always find a way to add a caucus in every meal.

I.e. my mom… Do Brussels sprouts really need a ham hock floating in it?

Cut to my dad frying up two different animals for one meal.

One would assume my family and friends would think being gay is a phase, nope. It’s me being a vegetarian something they don’t handle well.

“You still on that bull where you don’t eat anything with a parent?” says, my dad. “Oh, but are you going out tonight? I’m sure the boys are waiting to see you.”

Meanwhile it has been five years and I can see my clavicle bone (which isn’t so bad) from starvation because I never have anything to eat and I refuse to go out and use my own money. Hey, I’m the child shouldn’t parents be obligated to feed their children no matter what age?

So I’m stuck surviving off of SmartWaters, low carb Monsters and flaming hot Munchies. While most people go on vacation and gain weight, I avoid it.

See there is a silver lining or so I thought…

Well apparently my parents and friends have been reading up on being a vegetarian. All I did this visit was eat like a fat giant hog!

Instead of cooking we went to every vegetarian friendly restaurant imaginable. I appreciate my people spoiling me but when I imagined them footing the bill I assumed it would involve a cash-wrap and department store bags not doggie bags.

My body hasn’t been right since I left. Now that I’ve returned home to Kansas I’m doing two-a-days at the gym, yoga, spinning classes, weight lifting and jogging on an empty stomach.

Though I poke fun at my parents and protruding waist line I must say I really enjoy my hometown everyone always spoil me and make my visit as enjoyable as possible it’s good to have great family and friends.

Hope you guys are enjoying your summer.

6 Responses to “Down Home Famine”

  1. Allie Santiago June 15, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    You can blame it all on that onion blossom! Those things are the DEVIL! ❤ Love you. You're still skinny.

    • BougieHippie June 15, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

      It is delicious. I finished the whole thing by myself.*tear*

  2. Allie Santiago June 15, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    http://www.menshealth.com/20worst/worststarter.html 😀

    • BougieHippie June 15, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

      I thought you where my friend!!!!!!!! 😦 lol

  3. Allie Santiago June 15, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    LOL that’s okay because I know you won’t eat that many calories in the next few months put together!

Leave a Reply

