New Workout

17 Jun


Just as one tries multiple diets and workout routines in the hopes of the best physical results possible, shaving is just the same. All methods don’t work for everyone.

Everybody’s metabolism is different and so is their skin. This being Father’s Day Weekend I found myself reminiscing of my fondest father-son moment with my dad.

“The Day Dad Taught Me How to Shave” or better known as “The Worst Day for My Skin Since Puberty.”

 

I had the worst razor bumps and burns imaginable. I never thought shaving could be so difficult but after looking like a Star Crunch. I had to find a program that fit me.

Grooming has become a major staple in my appearance/personal style. Shaving specifically, is a major and strong opponent that I have a constant battle with as much as my showdowns with the scale.

I was the type of person who thought I could shave daily contrary to my dad’s advice the backlash was those dreaded razor bumps that I later found is due to rushing shavings, shaving in the wrong direction (some say against the gain some say with the grain) in addition to not adequately lubricating my beard.
I associate shaving with a lot of things such as romance, age and personal style.

I always say you can tell how selfish a guy is romantically by if he shave his balls. Shaving also makes you look younger and thinner too.

Shaving isn’t just restricted to the face. Grooming your whole body (manscaping) is just as tricky so, it’s important to know what products to use on each area of your body.

Summer is in full effect, I know this is the time of the year we want to show off our beach bodies I know I’ve been starving all year and ready to bare a little skin. You can’t do so with bumpy skin like peanut brittle or hairy like a hog.

Here’s the regime I shared with my younger brother after he had the same shaving experience with my dad as I did.

When shaving don’t forget to shower before a shave and exfoliate first to remove dead skin, which softens up the skin/hair (the same applies to shaving the chest and bikini area.)

Important to remember: Each area of your skin is different.

Razors: I have two razors and I only go near my face with one and that is to shape, trim or shave off my mustache in which I use a standard Mach3. The other is a Gillette Fusion for my forearms and genitals the vibration is soothing and speeds up the process.

Body hair clippers: I use this for my bikini area and underarms. Because it’s electronic and has a guard that doesn’t get close enough to irritate, cut or burn the skin leaving burses and bumps.

Fine line trimmer: Obviously this is for my nose hairs.

Hair Remover: The most sensitive areas on your body are your face and chest. To remove hair off my chest I use Veet. For my beard I use Magic Shave (I use the sliver can of Magic Shave, there are other brands based on coarseness of facial hair.) Magic Shave is a powder hair remover you mix with water like a paste and remove it with a butter knife which means no razors so no razor bumps AT ALL. Like Veet, be sure to follow the instruction to avoid chemical burns.

Another important reminder: Purchase a calming aftershave balm not splash or anything with alcohol. After any type of shave your skin needs to be settled.

My skin is very important to me as first impressions are. Bad skin isn’t the way you want to present yourself to the world and shaving plays a huge factor. It’s dire to understand what works premium with your skin.

A hairy guy or puss bump ridden face is worst than having a double chin any day.

From me that is saying a lot.

7 Responses to “New Workout”

  1. Antonio Maurice Daniels June 20, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    Excellent advice about shaving! Many men need to read this piece because it can save them from having such rough looking skin from improper shaving. Good post.

    • BougieHippie June 20, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

      I see it everyday. It’s gross. And one guy told me he read he should shave every day which is wrong. Blk men should have with a razor only once a week.

  2. Kiah November 28, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    OMG those bumps look so gross! I hope guys are taking note! I don’t mind a little scruff (I actually like that that on some men) but the bumbs…NO!! Kiah

  3. Dan Giovanni December 22, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    LOFL @ “puss bump”!!!! I think u meant “pus bump” LOL!! BIIIIIG difference!!! LoL You crack me up! 😀

    • BougieHippie December 22, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

      Lmao. Did you find the post useful though?

  4. replica hermes birkin bag May 4, 2013 at 10:54 am #

    Hello, your articles here New Workout | Anorexic Escapades to write well, thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shave Today Eat Tomorrow. | - July 18, 2012

    […] looks disgusting devouring whatever artery clogger she chooses off the menu. I normally shave once a week but I really wanted to try out the shaving gel I purchased yesterday Gillette Fusion ProGlide: […]

Leave a Reply

