Sky-high Scale

29 Jun

As most may know everything about me is fabulous and I’m perfect but like many mere mortals I have one serious flaw…

I don’t know how to pack.

This may be attributed to many things; as a child all of our family vacations were road trips where we just threw a bunch of items in the car and took off, my love of clothing and inability to edit myself as well as all my vacations as an adult has been majority road trips.

No matter how many days I plan to be away I never can seem to have enough clothing. I like to be prepared for everything.

I’ve tried every packing trick like using smaller bags; only take versatile shoes and pants also, only taking items I haven’t been photographed in. Yet I still end up packing every item I every bought.

With it being summer better known as “prime vacation time” we all are planning travels. However gas is too high for a road trip leaving us to flight.

The thing I have always counted on with flying is the one free check baggage. To my surprise I have found it is no longer in existent, so much so that the airlines have been reported to have made 3.4 billion dollars in baggage fees (everyone got a hustle.)

I don’t like to pay for anything I don’t have to!

For Independence Day I have a long vacation planned where I will be gone for seven days. Instantly my mind calculated 14 ensembles plus sleep and work-out wear (just because you’re on vacation don’t justify being a fatty.)

I was worried.

So I enlisted my friend Chandler, when it comes to his fashion style he’s very minimal and laid back. He never takes more than he need so I thought he would be perfect to help downsize my wardrobe. Thanks to the digital age I was able to Skype him in from Philadelphia.

Of course I was putting up a battle to keep each article which, wasn’t getting us nowhere till he had a brilliant idea.

“Oliver treat packing like a diet,” said Chandler. THERE IT HIT ME! Like hunger pains during one of my seven day fast I knew just what to do.

I came up with a Packing Diet Plan.

I decided what work well with my body trip, set a goal and was realistic. I then made a list here’s how it went…

Goal: To only take 2 carry-on bags and have something to wear all seven days.

Rules: 1 pair of shorts, 1 polo, 2 khakis, 2 oxfords, 3 T-shirts and 2 pair of denims (light & dark,) 3 shoes/belts (casual, athletic and dressy) and one pair of workout shorts.

Cheats: Stuff shoes with socks, roll jeans, fold all shirts together and Ziploc all accessories and cosmetic products.

Another way to stick by what you will pack and to know what to wear to event is to photograph each outfit and mark it.

Remember it’s HOT!

3 Responses to “Sky-high Scale”

  1. Sara June 29, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    yay you did it! better than I could do 🙂 and yes that was a KFC in chandler AZ, which I listed at the bottom of the post 🙂 it looks the same on the outside but a fun diner feel on the inside! We loved it!

    The House of Shoes

  2. johnnys504 July 6, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    Ha! You did well! When its time for me to pack i buy ALL new under garments. new socks, briefs, and tshirts. Every single time. and like you said, a versatile shoe. But usually when i travel, i travel with the intent to shop, so i don’t worry about to many outfits. I’ll be purchasing them THERE. so i usually do casual clothes.

    • BougieHippie July 6, 2011 at 1:19 am #

      I only buy new stuff when I’m running against time or just end up in city on a whim. But until they go back to free baggage checking I wont be doing too much shopping in another city.

Leave a Reply

