Pores/Pastries

2 Aug

What does pepperoni pizza, peppermint patties and peanut brittle have in common other than being the main ingredients in cottage cheese thighs?

Yes, you guessed it! This is what one’s skin resembles when not looked after properly.

We all know being thin is always in but, not taking care of your skin is just as bad a sin.

Though the summer can be the worst time of the year for my skin I must say I’ve been receiving great praises on my complexion.

The best one was when I attended a movie theater in Houston, TX the ticket lady carded me I asked why and she replied “we have to card anyone who looks under 18 after 10p.m.” well I gave her my driver’s licenses to where she mouth WOW in astonishment after seeing that I was born in 85 not 95.

My personal favorite was when I was in the Gap in Philadelphia and a stranger pulled me to the side and asked if I was wearing makeup because my skin was so smooth.

To me this was FREAKING FABULOUS. I have always been really self-conscious about my skin. Throughout my teens and into young adulthood I have dealt with acne, breakouts and oily skin. Now, after trying multiple medications, topical gels and facial washes I have developed my own little fountain of youth.

Now I just need to create my own Forever Thin cream.

I’m always buying and trying different facial products to see how they work so I can recommend them to my friends for their personal skin problems as well as mines.

Sunday as I was getting ready for church my skin was looking pretty great! It dawned on me that I should share my secrets with my readers.

Like any new diet or workout I always want to share. As I think it’s my civic duty to keep the world fit and trimmed I also feel it’s my obligation to keep it pretty too.

My 5 step facial regimen

1. Scrub: Stimulates, exfoliates and refines pores to give finer smoother skin leaving the skin looking vibrant. Do not wash face just wet it and scrub your face in gentle, wide, circular upstrokes.

I use Aveeno’s Positively Ageless daily exfoliating cleanser. It has small micro beads similar to a microdermabrasion but not as abrasive.

For dry, sensitive skin try St. Ives Apricot Scrub. It softens your face and leaves a delicious smell. Also cleanses the skin.

2. Peel: I use this after a scrub to rejuvenate and restore my skin’s elasticity. It’s great for the skin because it stimulates, loosens and removes dead skin cells improving the texture of my skin, while reducing pore size. It can also assist in reducing hyperpigmentation (blotchy skin) and collagen production.

My product of choice is Freeman’s Feeling Beautiful facial peel-off cucumber mask. It’s perfect for normal to combination skin. Though clay masks are good for oily skin I prefer to use them during the winter. Also, it comes in small travel packages so that you can have fabulous skin on vacation.

3. Daily Wash: follow up your peel by simply washing your face. A daily wash cleanse and detoxify your face from the harsh elements of the environment preventing pimples from popping up and help treat any that cannot be prevented.

St. Ives’s Naturally Clear green tea cleanser is a product I’ve been using since 2009. Its active ingredient is salicylic acid which is one of the two main acne fighting agents used in acne treatment cleansers the other being benzoyl peroxide. I don’t use benzoyl peroxide because I have sensitive skin and I don’t have major acne problems other than the occasional pimple but for those with more serious skin problems find a wash with this active agent.

4. Toner: Tighten you skin! After ever wash be sure to use a toner it will refresh, tighten, cleanse and moisturize your skin for a healthy glow. Used before applying moisturizer or makeup,

Most toners dry the skin but Bioré’s Triple Action Astringent is less drying but it still works. Toners are also great for minimizing pores and evening skin tone.

5.Moisturizer: Final step when using strong cleansers to treat acne prone skin, dry skin or oily skin is to moisturize. Cleansers often strip away the skin’s natural moisture. As a result, the skin responds by producing more oil to protect itself. Choose a skin moisturizer containing ingredients that will preserve the desirable qualities of your skin and prevent undesirable attributes from appearing.

The best for all types of skin is Neutrogena’s Visibly Even daily moisturizer. It reduces blotchiness, dark spots and we all need the SPF 30 protectant from these harsh summer UV rays. I do suggest in the winter switch to a gel.

Being a vegetarian and an eco-friendly environmentalist in my aid to keep the water supply from being over affected I try my best to use agrarian or organic products so all the facial products I use are natural. However, if you don’t have the time or money here is a quick and cost effective process that I personally use that will cover all your needs to get the same results though the products aren’t unrefined. Bioré’s Pore Unclogging scrub & Revitalize 4 in 1 self-foaming cleanser.
Quick Fix
Just remember to recycle all your bottles when done.

The key to fabulous skin is simple: Clean, Hydrate and Protect.

Oh yeah! Minimize those pores it’s bad enough I have to see people walk around with hail damage thighs let’s not have pot hole faces to match.

P.S
It’s not what you put on your body but into it. A healthy diet is a key source to youthful clear skin too.

9 Responses to “Pores/Pastries”

  1. Drew-Shanehane August 2, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    Thanks for the secrets! I’m going to grab my products now.

    Real talk, I have a hard time finding a good moisturizer. And I don’t use a scrub, I use the mint face mask which tingles too. I just need a good moisturizer to even my skin.

    • BougieHippie August 2, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

      LOL at “Tingles too”

      I once used ponds moisturizer faithfully till I found Neutrogena Visible Even, it does it all; even skin tone, shrink pore, protect from sun and hydrates. I also used Clinique’s Even Better Skin Tone Correcting Moisturizer SPF 20 but it was costly and my hookup at Clinique left to go to Mac.

      As far as scrubs you can use what I use or Aveeno’s Smart Essentials Daily Detoxifying Scrub I used it in Texas is smells great dissolves well and very cheap. But I will say they face wash I use comes in a scrub I used it while in Philly and I really loved it. Light, not harsh and left my skin smooth.

  2. Call Me Mr. Editor August 2, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Awesome post! Thanks for all the tips and advice. I especially love the du-rag.

    • BougieHippie August 2, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

      I got to keep this long blk curly hair down to the middle of my back out my face.

  3. bassclef August 2, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    PAY HOMAGE HEAUX!!

  4. Nekiah August 7, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    My skin is HORRIBLE! I may have to try this because your skin looks so AMAZING! Thanks for sharing! Kiah

  5. Jeanette Heth August 26, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    this was great! thanks for all the useful info!

    jeanette

    http://www.simplychicforcheap.wordpress.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tighten Up! | Where carbs come to die….Delusions & Doughnuts - July 2, 2012

    […] I suggested he use an toner (not astringent) to minimize his pores and reduce shinny skin all at the once. Now don’t get me wrong I swear by Biore’s Triple Action Astringent however, I use it in the winter as oppose to the summer as you may know I switch up my skin regimes from fall to summer. […]

Leave a Reply

