Vanilla Plateau

3 Aug


Just like my weight my fashion has reached a plateau.

I consider myself to be very plain like vanilla when it comes to my personal style. Lately I’ve been toying with the idea of starting my own Lookbook.nu in the effort to expand my readership despite, not being as fashionable as majority of the cool kids on the site.

Someone asked me what is my fashion uniform? At the time I couldn’t answer because I never been a fan of the “fashion uniform” I feel such a uniform is limited, unimaginative and quite frankly not stylish.

However, with this record breaking heat here in Kansas and my ability to never be on time to anything I have to be able to get dress quick, appropriate and weather efficient. What I’ve noticed that for the past two summers’ I have worn the same pair of cut-off cargos almost every day to everyplace.

I bought these shorts from Old Navy (don’t ask me why I was there I just like a bargain) last summer for three bucks and change. They were actually pants that I specifically bought so I could cut them into shorts. I also replace the original belt with a shoulder strap from an old military weekend bag.

I personally think cargo shorts are the quintessential summer fashion staple.

Say what you will about cargo shorts but these things are amazing. They have multiple pockets so no man bag, they’re baggy so they conceal all body types and did I mention they absolutely go with everything.

AND WELL VENTALATED!

Green is a versatile color being that it’s the foundation color of camouflage and by far the largest contributing color in nature. So much so that many animals and creatures have adapted to their environments by taking on a green hue so in other words GREEN MATCHES ANYTHING.

Last week I took note of how many times I had worn these shorts. From trips to the gym, grocery run, work meetings, movies, dinner dates and clubs, even the lake and not to count how many airports these flavorsome dungarees seen they have been my number one go to item of the season. I know this is an overused cliché but you can dress them up or down.

Just like a bottle of Smartwater instead of dinner these shorts are my ideal replacer for any summer article of clothing.

Oh and let’s not forget these are a size 30 waist. Eat that!

By the way what is your favorite fashion summer piece?

6 Responses to “Vanilla Plateau”

  1. Call Me Mr. Editor August 3, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    Your green shorts are what black skinny pants to me. I love the DIY vest in Wednesday’s look and the mocs in Thursday. Two posts in back-to-back days? Yung O is killin’ it! ❤

    • BougieHippie August 3, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

      Thanks alot! Are you really wearing blk jeans in the summer time?

  2. Grace August 4, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the sweet comment!

    xx Grace
    Dream-Boating

  3. Kamara Arthur W (@stylistikking) August 6, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    love it so eclectic ur realy got a good fashion sens

    • BougieHippie August 6, 2011 at 12:54 am #

      Really? I don’t think so but if someone as stylish as you think so then OK!

Leave a Reply

