Full of Nothing

10 Aug

Okay, we get it! You stay Fendi down to your socks but, you only own those four articles: the shirt, belt and jeans. Oh, of course the socks (that makes five maybe) I’ll give you that.

So should I really be impressed?

One of my many monetary hustles is cleaning and organizing closets. I have a long retail history that over time I have gather quite a following of loyal clients who have stuck with me even after my days of folding and selling clothes.

Every now and then I get a customer to enlist my services. Earlier in the week I had a gig organizing the closet of a girlfriend who has recently graduated college and landed a nice job where she needed to take her wardrobe from four organic plums to some nice ripe vine tomatoes.

Don’t get the metaphor?

Well, we all know someone who loves to “ensemble name drop” when it comes to their garments. I totally understand most people associate style with brand name designers. However, I’m always left wondering how much you are balling when you wear those same pieces every time you’re seen.

The girlfriend I speak of- we’ll call her Toni (you know from Girlfriends she loved her labels but why did she wear those beige Gucci shoes every episode?)

I’m a firm believer in quality over quantity specifically when it comes to shopping I rather have a lot of fashionable wholesale pieces rather than a few big name retail pieces.

Whenever I see a person wearing the same “high-end” articles of clothing I simply ask “are you tired of wearing that because I’m tired of seeing it?”

People with sustainable style know how to shop. When I say shop I’m not talking dropping a stack in one store I’m talking about making smart purchases.

For instance, a Louis Vuitton Petit Damier skull cap don’t make you a boss it make you a mail room clerk who just got a raise and don’t know how to act.

My girlfriend “Toni” has great style in my opinion but she is the first to scream who she’s wearing and how much it cost but it’s the third time this week she’s exclaimed this in the same blouse. It’s quite embarrassing.

People can live in their own delusion of what is style but, if you’re unable to spend your money wisely or pair an ensemble without the help of a logo or monogram going down the side is it really style?

It’s ok to spoil yourself or make extravagant purchases but remember what investment pieces are and what trend pieces are.

I’ve been called a hipster monk because I am the kind of person who when it comes to shopping I will strip away all unnecessary parts of a garment down to its functional essence: price, versatility, style and size.

When buying an article of clothing ask yourself…

Price: Will these Proenza pants go down in price within the week? Will the amount of time I wear this YSL belt equal the amount of money I spend on it? Will this Brooks Brother shirt, bag, pant or scarf pay for itself within 3months?

A dollar makes a difference. I always find myself estimating a price of a desired garment before looking at the tag to determine if I still want it after it’s not the craved guessed price.

Versatility: Can I wear this gauze tank at least into the beginning of the next season? Will I be able to wear this electric blue trapeze shirt after class into my interview and for drinks? Will these high-tops sneakers be in style this time next year? Will this fur collar blazer fit into my closet with my other garments without having to purchasing something else to pair it with?

Camouflage is important if I buy something that can be easily recognized I don’t want it.

Style: Does this speak to my overall unspoken persona? Am I mimicking someone else? Is this current?

It’s nothing worse than seeing a boaster wearing a black label varsity jacket during the smothering summer. Believe me I’ve seen it.

Size: Duh! I’m no fat a**. Meanwhile have you noticed that all the good items on sale seem to only come in size: whale?

I know the fashion world can be ruled by bling-laden excess but spending your whole check on a pair of jeans or bag isn’t fashion.

Learn how to shop smart like, thrift, sales, discounts or trunk shows. Bona fide style/fashion is when you are able to pair and style yourself with cheap and expensive items with no one telling the difference or when you wore it.

So please stop stuntn’ and change clothes!

10 Responses to “Full of Nothing”

  1. BwillV August 10, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    I hate going into the store, looking on the sale rack only to find that everything is HUGE! Skinny people have it so hard. Great article O!

  2. Drew-Shanehane August 11, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Spend wisely!

  3. Kiah August 12, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    What a great post! Wonderful rules of thumb when it comes to shopping! I agree 100% in quality over quantity and I can’t even see spending my hard earned money on a $500 T-shirt!! There is just NO WAY I’d do that!! If you can waste money like that then more power to you but I can take $500 and buy an entire wardrobe!! Can you say “sale” or “clearance”!! Oh and I did have my hair up in a high pony tail but I started getting a headache so I took it down. You are right, it would have looked better like that! lol Kiah

  4. Wherever The Sunset Us August 13, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Wow! Such a clean wardrobe!!!. Mine is like a catastrophe. :D.
    Thanks for your comment! xx

  5. Monroe Steele August 13, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    this is an awesome post. you are a great writer! thanks for visiting my blog too

    xoxo Monroe

    Fashion Steele NYC

  6. Kamara Arthur W (@stylistikking) August 15, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    awesome post i feeling u about the smart shopping

  7. Amanda August 16, 2011 at 1:01 am #

    um yea…your closet is definitely more organized than mine. looks good!! love how neatly the jeans are folded at the top!!

    <3Amanda
    feast.fashion.faves

  8. BougieHippie August 16, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    Thanks!!!! for all you guys comments! I really appreciate it!

  9. monique August 22, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Great Post! Style has nothing to do with designers
    Chiffon, Lace and Leather Fashion Blog

    • BougieHippie August 22, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

      EXACTLY!!!! but a good Gucci is ok every now and again! lol

Leave a Reply

