Hunger

16 Aug


Remember that scene in “Mommy Dearest” where Joan Crawford wouldn’t let Christina get up from the table till she ate that bloody disgusting steak?

Well, my dumb New Year’s resolution is Joan, I’m Christina and that disgusting steak is “The Carrie Diaries” by Candace Bushnell.

I told you in my pervious book review that I challenged myself to read at least one book a month this year. One of the criteria of the challenge is that I can’t go to the next book till I’m done with the current one.

Since July I’ve been stuck on this horrible book “The Carrie Diaries” because it’s the worst book of all time.

The series is a prequel to Sex and the City, and follows the character of Carrie Bradshaw.

This book is so bad that I kept putting it down. I originally started reading it on my flight to Philadelphia which was only good for knocking me out.

It took a whole month to get to chapter 21 till yesterday; I couldn’t sleep and picked it up in the hopes of getting some rest. This knocked me cold out as planned.

Here’s my review.

Carrie Bradshaw is like a bag of low fat Cheetos- stupid, stupid, stupid!

I’ve never been a fan of Carrie, yes she is stylish and the glue to the fabulous four but other than that I always thought she was dead weight.

She don’t contribute anything to the group but her pathetic romance drama and a good shoe from time to time but even her style was questionable. This book which was set during her high school years totally shows she’s been an idiot behind guys since getting her period.

The only thing that kept me reading was me imagining Carrie and her friends being painfully thin. The author Candace Bushnell kept trying to stress to the readers that Carrie has been a fashionista since puberty.

Even with the constant description of fabulous garment, family heirlooms and trips to vintage stores wasn’t enough to make Carrie or this book interesting.

This is the book- Carrie is a virgin. Carrie meets hot guy. Carrie gives up everything for hot guy but her virginity. Hot guy dumps Carrie for her best friend. Carrie is distraught. Carrie realized she had neglected all her friends during hot guy’s relationship. Carrie gets life back on track and becomes friends with her arch nemesis. Carrie moves to New York.

This book was horrible in the least. Carrie is a lifeless common character who never had any luck with guys and do what all helpless tragic girls do- obsess over a guy and change herself only to find herself alone and overweight well, not overweight but you get it. Oh yeah they introduce Samantha Jones at the end.

However, there have been talks of a movie based the book staring Blake Lively so will I read the second book? Yes.

First, I need a book with more… what is the word swollen people use? Substance!

This book was less than fulfilling.

My next book will be “Choke” by Chuck Palahniuk.

6 Responses to “Hunger”

  1. Call Me Mr. Editor August 16, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    You know your lead can’t be about steak without making my fat ass want some, but that’s not why I’m here. There’s something to be said about a book review that seems more entertaining than the book itself! Great post and keep up the amazing work. Now lemme go pop this piece of Trident in my mouth to curb these hunger pangs. #OliverTaughtMe

  2. Sara August 16, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    haha you are hilarious!! very entertaining to read. love your comparison to cheetos hahaha. too bad the book sucks, maybe the movie will be better 🙂

  3. Annie August 20, 2011 at 2:59 am #

    well…at least you finished it. agree with first comment, your review sounds miles more entertaining than the book!

  4. WrittenbyBene August 22, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    Found your blog from a comment you left on mine. Not sure if you’ll see this. But you’re hilarious. I like the diversity in content. Great post.

    • BougieHippie August 22, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      I seen it! and thanks for coming by please return!

  5. Monroe Steele August 22, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    OMG i have this book and still havent read it…i agree with your review…lol

    xoxo Monroe

    Fashion Steele NYC

Leave a Reply

