Closed Mouths Don’t Get Fed

5 Oct

I make lists for everything; groceries, daily tasks, genius ideas and diet progress. Lists are extremely helpful to me I write everything down everywhere because my memory is like my carbohydrate intake (in one way out the other.)

My favorite list to make is my annual “Birthday Wish List” that consists of a few things I plan on buying myself for my birthday.

Today starts the 25 day countdown to my 26th birthday October 31, 2011. To kick off this amazing event I created my “B-Day WL.” As I was doing this my friend asked why do I make one every year only to buy the things myself?

Though, the idea of any wish list is a detailed guide to getting what you really want for the specific occasion I use my as a goal chart.

I never expect people to buy me anything because everyone assumes I’m hard to shop for when in actuality I’m not. The best thing anyone could do for me on my birthday is call, text or Facebook me “Happy Birthday” at least I know you were thinking of me.

Really I am just over crappy gifts.

However, for those of you who do expect things on your birthdays or any celebratory events in your life there is proper etiquette to wish lists.

Who Cares: Do not just pass out your list to everyone you know. Give it to people who actually like you. Better yet give it to people who you’ve recently bought a birthday gift. Be sure to leave the list out conveniently around your place (mine is on post-it notes stuck to my desktop, communal space) that when people visit they can see.

Don’t Be Delusional: If you can’t afford the things on your list then don’t expect someone else to. Don’t be greedy!

Lowered Expectations: Do not be surprised if you receive the cheapest gift on this list so buy what you truly want yourself.

Say Thank You: For every gift I always send a thank you card just a little appreciation for them taking time out of their day to search and buy something for me. This is a guaranteed way for them to continue to buy you gifts in the future.

A birthday wish list is a subtle way to ask for a present and serve as a reminder to people that your birthday is coming up. As Well as no one knows what you want if you don’t tell them.

As for me it’s a way for me to accomplish the things that will help me be some kind of excited for another year older.

What’s on mine’s?

7 Responses to “Closed Mouths Don’t Get Fed”

  1. kristina@beancakes ★ October 6, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    have you been to S.F. before?, i’m originally from the bay area! hey, and i totally agree with you ~ i don’t expect people to buy me things ~ this is why i buy things myself ~ because i don’t like crappy gifts! all i really like and appreciate from others is a simple “happy birthday” in the form of a phone call, text, email or card. i’m glad to see that someone else shares my same sentiment regarding gift-giving. and is that 25 lbs. that i see on your list?, or 2 lbs.?? you are by any means, not over-weight! 😉 😉
    xx ~ ks

  2. Monroe Steele October 6, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    Yeah I always make a What I Want list then buy it all for myself…lol

    xoxo Monroe

    Fashion Steele NYC

  3. BougieHippie October 6, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    @Kristina I’ve been once. I want to move there I feel it fits my personality.

  4. Annie October 7, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    I love the “leave the list around on little post-it notes around the house”. Must try this.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Seconds Anyone? | Where carbs come to die….Delusions & Doughnuts - October 10, 2011

    […] birthday is approaching and one of the things on my Birthday Wish List is a grey blazer. I went to Zara.com and I was excited by the merchandise like a fat kid at a […]

  2. Those Who Starve | Where carbs come to die….Delusions & Doughnuts - October 31, 2011

    […] put a pair of Timberland boots on my Birthday Wish list and early this month I was back in Burlington not only did I find the Timberlands boots I wanted […]

Leave a Reply

