Its OK, Play With Your Food

7 Oct

“I will never look at food again for a Burberry Trench coat,” some fashion starved tweeter posted. This re-ignited my love for the beloved stylish yet sophisticated overlay. As most may know I do not consider myself stylish due to my ever-changing fashion choices. However, one thing has always remain consistent is that my love of a neat and sharp outerwear look.

It’s finally fall! With that, we all know fall weather is a cross of breezy mornings, sunny afternoons and rainy evenings. With the ever-wavering weather for months to come we, all need a hip & polished jacket to protect our newly purchased fall garments. Besides who wants to walk into the building, Monday morning with a damp disheveled look…so not tre chic.

Which is what happened to me Monday and Thursday both days were extremely windy and the drizzling rain didn’t help my attire much.

On a vintage voyage in San Francisco back in 2007 I stopped at an old Church basement sales and I came across a London Fog Trench made in 1982 coat size 40 regular (a perfect size) and I knew it was destine. The dapper integument was priced at 75 bucks which wasn’t bad thought the Church was doing a canned food drive, with any canned-good savvy shoppers were rewarded an additional discount. So being the high class cheapskate I am I franticly dashed (in the efforts not to lose my prized possession to some bum and a shopping cart or worst a delusional size 48) over to the nearest dollar store and grabbed several canned vegetables. After all the sweat and angst, I got a fabulous trench for 25 whole dollars!

I wear my fabulous find proudly to this day I live for fall and spring weather alike to be able to pull out my classic cloak. I know as a kid parents said don’t play with your food but I don’t eat, I shop instead so it perfectly fine. Right?

Monday it was raining and I wanted to be a bit casual for class so I dressed it down. Thursday I had an important meeting at work that I wanted to look sharp for without being dumped on by the drizzle and wind.

Designers are doing some fantastic things with trench coats this season from different weights, lengths and colors.

The Undersize Utilitarian: the short trench is a very much adaptive trendy piece of this season because we are all on the go in this instantaneous society we need something that suits our needs yet does its job for reason of purchased. It’s lightweight, comes in an array of color and because of its shortened length it’s cheaper. Anorexic Escapades Caveat – It will not cover as much as the longer Trench so if deciding to wear a longer short guys, or a calf length dress girls, you may run the risk of looking a little silly.

Designers of Inspirations: H&M, the Gap, Rag & Bone and Kenneth Cole

The Betwixt Antiquarian: Most vintage trenches come in knee or calf lengths this style of coat is very flattering and classic. Fellas, it is long enough to cover a suit without overwhelming and ladies, the belt at the waist is great for cinching to give a great silhouette.

Designers of Inspirations: London Fog, Burberry, MaxMara and Aquascutum London

The Dainty & Double Breasted Greatcoat: Women a trench coat dress is a perfect new style for a classic girly girl, its fitted and flared for a very chic and feminine look more importantly its great for hiding the butt and hips. Gentleman double-breasted Trench coat is more distinguishing and wraps fully across the chest and provides more protection for clothing underneath giving a more traditional look surmised from the trench.

Designers of inspirations: Tommy Hilfiger, Celine and Blumarine.

Tips on Wearing the Trench:
• Don’t carry a messagner bag unless it’s a very fitted Trench
• Though trench coats come in an array of colors Tan is the best way to go
• Shop Vintage; its cost effective and you get a more conventional look

Speaking of vintage did I tell you all how someone called a Hilfiger purse vintage? People can be overly delusional but that’s another blog for another day.

Maincoats to me are forever casual and cool, great for stylish and classic weather protection.

10 Responses to “Its OK, Play With Your Food”

  1. Allie Santiago October 7, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    I AM OBSESSED WITH THIS LONDON FOG TRENCH. Love.

  2. ANA October 10, 2011 at 5:06 am #

    Love those looks!! That trench is amazing!! Thanks for your lovely comment 😉

  3. Mallika October 10, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Haha, I agree with the quote! Amazing trench!

    x Mallika
    http://fashionscript.net

  4. kristina@beancakes ★ October 10, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    oh nice use of colors here! love the versatile khaki trench coat!! and i really like the decor in your home as well ~ cool marilyn painting!! 😉 😉
    xx ~ ks

  5. Nekiah October 10, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    That my dear is the “PERFECT” trench coat! What a total score and you look stunning in it both opened and closed. FIERCE! Kiah

  6. Aria October 10, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    I love the trench coat. 🙂

  7. Kimberly October 17, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    You killed it in both of these looks!

  8. Jo & Sue November 4, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    love your trench coat!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. À la carte | Anorexic Escapades - December 21, 2013

    […] Coat: London Fog (Vintage) Sweater: Perry Ellis $26.50 Shirt: Lands’ End $34 Pants: The Gap (had since 2007) Shoes: […]

Leave a Reply

