Seconds Anyone?

10 Oct

Every time I finish a bag of Lays kettle cooked jalapenos cheddar chips I go in a corner to cry. Partly because I just scarf down over 500 yummy calories and I know I’ll be back again but, mainly because I know the 5 miles jog to keep the delicious goodness from showing up on my thighs will be brutal. I just keep going back for more.

That’s my relationship with online clothes shopping.

In a previous post I purged about my disgusting experience with Asos.com. Well, I went back for more this time Zara.com.

In September Zara launched its online shopping experience. I personally have never bought anything from Zara I’ve only been inside of the physical store twice in Houston and Atlanta but didn’t buy anything.

What I do like about the store is that the price points are very reasonable; the merchandise is small and limited so not a lot of people will be in the same thing. Also, the clothes aren’t flashy or seasonal just smart swanky clothing that you can be paired with more expensive “flashy” pieces to create a more fashionable look.

My birthday is approaching and one of the things on my Birthday Wish List is a grey blazer. I went to Zara.com and I was excited by the merchandise like a fat kid at a Snickers factory. You can tell by how many boxes I received.

But here’s where the tummy ache started.

Like any online clothier there’s a size chart. According to Zara’s size chart I am technically a small in blazers with a chest of 36.5 (my chest looks like a xylophone, nothing but ribs) but to play it safe I ordered a medium.

When I received the jacket it fit like a chicken stuffed with bacon dressed in biker tights
I wasn’t too upset, not until I read their return policy.

You can only do a return not exchange. It takes 7-10 business days for them to receive, process the items and credit your card which takes another 7 business days. Then, you have to reorder the items and wait for the delivery.

What is great, Zara does have the best delivery. I did overnight delivery for only $9 (the cheapest overnight delivery I’ve ever seen,) I order my merchandise at 3 p.m. on a Wednesday receiving everything Thursday before 2 p.m. That was amazing.

However, I didn’t want to go through that pony express return policy I just happened to be going to Dallas that has a Zara store. The online customer service representative said it was best just to go into a store and exchange.

I get to the store to exchange and they didn’t have any blazers like the one I bought that fit so I thought I just could exchange for something totally different.

Oh, but no not Zara!

When purchasing online then doing an in store exchange you can only exchange for a different size or color in the item you purchased.

Now how could I do this when they were out of the blazers in my size?! After I took a deep breath and flashed my killer white smile, did a little flirting I got my way and two blazers (not grey but still fabulous.)

This is why I only smile when need be. I will say this experience wasn’t totally a bummer as the Asos catastrophe.

I absolutely understand that Zara still have some kinks to work out with their online shopping experience being that it is new.

The fact still remains online shopping isn’t for me as much as a fat girl in one size fit all sequined tights.

Good in theory but delusional.

12 Responses to “Seconds Anyone?”

  1. kristina@beancakes ★ October 10, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    that blazer looks awesome on you!! and i just love zara ~ i’ve never bought anything from their online store yet ~ only in france a few years back 😉
    xo ~ ks

    • BougieHippie October 10, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

      That’s actually 2 different blazers. In two different blues.

  2. Mockingbird October 10, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    Ugh, I guess I’m just a masochist then. I only shop online because trying on clothes in store is quite traumatizing. My big issue, though, is usually that everything I order is way too big(even 00 at times). I’m truly convinced that there is something wrong with the sizing of the world and not my body being too small(it’s fucking huge). It’s really annoying but it beats having to look at my hideousness in all the mirrors they bombard you with. The blazer is really chic, but what is with the big bird shirt? You kinda look like one of those models for American Apparel here.

    • BougieHippie October 10, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

      I love going into the store b/c I can try on a feel the clothes. I actually had on my gym clothes I wanted to just show case the blazers.

  3. Nekiah October 10, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    That blazer is amazing! I love the color on you and the fit! I must say you..you may need to join me at online shoppers anonymous!! lol Kiah

  4. Carlo Agdamag October 11, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    I really love these blazers! Looks good on you! 😉

  5. Monroe Steele October 12, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    great post. i want these silver brogues from Zara but ofcourse they dont have them in my size..anywhere..ugh! can u use a different color font on the blue background? its hard to read.
    love the blog

    xo Monroe

    Fashion Steele NYC

    • BougieHippie October 13, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

      I’ve been trying but it mess with my whole template for someone reason.

  6. johnnys504 October 13, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    You just made me go over to Zara.com and i just want to thank you for 1 thing

    reminding me of why i need to lose another 30 pounds. I’ve been inspired all over again. Since i’m still a 38, and their largest size jean is 36…i must get to a 34. (bc knowing my luck a 34 for me will STILL be a 36 at Zara.com)

    • BougieHippie October 13, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

      Yes!!!!! Even I had to go up a size there. Now thats some BULL!

  7. Jeromy Falcione April 3, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

    Stomach aches are one of those stomach disorders which are very frequent. It is very often that we hear people complaining of stomach aches. The abdominal crater involves several organs such as the appendix, liver, pancreas and the intestines along with an assortment of ducts and muscles. A disorder in any of these organs could be the cause of your stomach ache every time you experience it..

    Most recently released short article on our own blog site
    <.http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/wisdom-teeth-removal-cost/

Leave a Reply

