What Makes “A Salad” A Salad

12 Oct

When putting together an ensemble I like to reference a salad. Fresh crisp leaves (pants & tops) with nice garnishments (accessories) served in a cold slim bowl (my almost emaciated body.)

I know you’re wondering; what about the dressing (shoes?) I don’t put dressing on my salads- not worth the empty calories.

This is my dilemma; I never worry about my shoes. Though, I do buy my fair share of shoes I never thought of them as my main focus because I normally wear a moccasin, boot or sneaker and on Sundays I’ll throw on a dress shoe.

To have a complete look shoes are a wardrobe’s anchor. Just as a salad with dressing, shoes give what you are serving a zestful taste.I was evaluating my closet and I realized two things.

One, I don’t have any shoes that inspire me to dress for the season. Two, the shoes I do have I don’t like to wear.

Over the weekend one of my best friends having the similar problem came into town to visit me. So, to get me motivated for fall/winter dressing we went shoe shopping.

Being the high-end cheapskate I am i.e. BougieHippie, I got some good deals.

 

Brogue: The taupe color alone will be versatile to pair with any color combination like colored corduroy. What makes this shoe special is that the brogue detail is fun enough to add personality to my wardrobe yet still subtle. Price: $34

 

Patent Leather Oxford: This is more of an evening driving shoe that I was thinking of donning with a colored blazer, graphic tee and dark denim also, a white dress shirt, bowtie and distressed denim. I’m really mad for the high gloss it will dress up just about anything. Price: $60

 

Ankle Boot: I don’t like a lot of rubber or sole on a shoe that’s why moccasins are my absolute favorite shoe. With fall here winter just a cool breeze away I need a weather durable like shoe. This boot is  lightweight, vibrant and full coverage. I still get the effortless ethnic cool of the moccasin with the resistant of a boot that will be great with a skinny cargo pant. Price: $75

 

Desert Boot: These boots are everywhere I had to get a pair. Thought I bought a tan pair during the summer I’ve since given away, the utility of the shoes will be sharp with denim or khakis with a chunky grandpa cardigan or an oversized herringbone sweater. Price: $65

 

Animal Print Plimsoll: Even though I don’t like the style of the shoes I am sweet on the print and pony hair I can’t wait to do a graphic sweatshirt and stone washed denim. Price: $50

 

 

Micro-perforated Slim Blucher: Basically it was these or some black suede Via Spiga moccasins. I see a turtleneck! Price:$90

 

Construction Boot: Okay, I’ve wanted a pair of Timberlands for over a year now but the 185 dollar price tag for a seasonal shoe and I don’t build houses I just couldn’t do it. Well I found a brand new pair to outfit my flannel, layered Henley and distressed pea coat. Price: $25

 

Now that I have the perfect dressings to top off my salad I’m inspired to show you all what I’m bringing to the table this season.

16 Responses to “What Makes “A Salad” A Salad”

  1. kristina@beancakes ★ October 12, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    first off i have to say that i love the phrase “high-end cheapskate,” because that’s exactly what i consider myself to be ~ and your name bougiehippie illustrates this perfectly!! secondly ~ i have to compliment you on your shoes ~ these are all awesome ~ love the suede desert boots and some black patent leather is always a good idea! now if i could just get my husband to wear these gems!!! 😉 😉 p.s. a salad sounds great right about now!! {need to start eating healthy again}
    xo ~ ks

  2. Nekiah October 13, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    You have been shopping it up!! I love every single pair. Loving the brogues and the Timbos. My hubby used to have about 6 pairs of those boots (Timberland’s) in every color; they are an east coast must have! BUT (yes, I started a sentence with “but”) the patent leather oxfords….I DIED!! Fabulous honey! So, what did you pick up for me? haha Thank you for your sweet comment. Kiah

  3. johnnys504 October 13, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    You got some really good shoes at good prices! Im so jealous, where did u go. The only places i know to shop for shoes are ALDO and Steve MAdden, all of which are normally $160-$199. I just recently started shoe shopping at Urban Outfitters.

    • BougieHippie October 13, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

      I went to Burlington, Von Maur, Dillards, Macy’s and Zara oh and Clarks

  4. BROOKEandMCKENZIE October 14, 2011 at 12:26 am #

    Love the Oxford’s and the Brogues, but all very good choices!

    Brooke and Mckenzie

    brookeandmckenzie.wordpress.com

  5. Amanda from feast.fashion.faves October 14, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    LOVE your analogy!! haha….it’s awesome!
    and I LOVE all of your shoes!!! wow

    <3Amanda
    feast.fashion.faves

  6. HerLateNightCravings October 14, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    What a great shoe collection! Love it!!

    We are now following you! Thanks for visiting our blog! We’d love to have you follow us 🙂 Have a great weekend!
    Jayme & Mendi @ Her Late Night Cravings

  7. bassclef October 15, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    Gosh those pics are so f’n amazin’ how much does ur photographer charge?

  8. Monroe Steele October 15, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    cool shoe collection

    xo Monroe

    Fashion Steele NYC

  9. VIVA.V October 16, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    LOVE the brogue suede shoes! so, so chic! Hoe you had a great weekend sugar! x

  10. Effortless Cool October 17, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    love your analogies! and great shoe collection 🙂

    XO Sahra
    EffortlessCool

  11. Camille October 23, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    I love ALL those shoes! Really good choices 😉

  12. simplychic November 3, 2011 at 1:25 am #

    “I have tendency to buy things I don’t need because they’re on sale” , “high-end cheapskate” you are so speaking my language right now! haha. great shoe game too 🙂

  13. Carlo Agdamag November 3, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    these are sexy pairs of shoes!!

  14. Jo & Sue November 4, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    OMG!! you rock! they rock everything rocks!

  15. odw-sr December 18, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    very x$$$$ !!!!! yes or what.

Leave a Reply

