Being Thin Don’t Always Win.

28 Oct

I could have had a V8!

That’s how I felt after watching last night’s season finale of Project Runway’s 9th season.

Of course Anya Ayoung-Chee won, she’s pretty, poised and hip. All the things you would expect from a former beauty queen but here’s the gotcha: SHE CAN’T SEW!

I do applauded her for her modern trendy easy-going looks she created during the challenges, partly due to her lack of sewing experience which I thought she turned out incredible garments.

However, this show is about finding the next great American fashion designer and though she has a great eye for prints (personally my affection for prints is more than dismal) her tiny bit of talent isn’t what great designers are made of.

We all knew that Anya was a fan and judge favorite for the season premier, I feel that she mainly won for show purposes. Anya had a good story, she’s a hot girl and we viewers like an underdog story.

Let’s review her Lincoln Center collection; it was flowy, interesting eye catching prints with sleek sexy silhouettes. The problem I had with the whole collection it was one note.

The same cut on each garments, no real construction and if this is supposed to be a national clothing line someday what girl is going to be wearing kaftans all year round. Obviously global warming hasn’t hit Trinidad.

Anya did take critiques well from the judges I just think she’s the one who needs a little bit more time to home her craft.

Speaking of Kimberly, I was more than smitten with her collection.

Kimberly line was NOW! The collection she sent down the runway were today’s fashion savvy, working, party and cool girl clothing. Her clothing was versatile where I can see pieces from her collection in a preppy girl’s closet to a party girl’s closet even the everyday girl’s closet.

It was a good mix of urban and dainty. The fits were sexy, professional and fun. More so it was true to Kimberly’s style.

Yes her styling was off but how many runway shows have you been to and thought, was the designer high when they paired those look together? I felt she created a consistent line with good piece that could sell in any department store right now.

Which brings me to marketing value, Josh surprised me. I do feel he should have gone home six challenges back howbeit I was entertained that he stayed. He caused drama and delivered a well edited, edgy rocker sophisticated collection that I felt where Kimberly’s collection was “now” Josh collection was what’s “next.”

Here’s the thing; in the past the judges have gone with the designers that delivered visionary collections that ultimately never surfaced in stores i.e. Jay McCarroll, Jeffrey Sebelia, Leanne Marshall, and Seth Aaron Henderson. So I think the judges wanted to go with someone who had a more commercial appeal. My critiques for Josh is thought it was the best in construction, ideas and style I think it was a line I would expect from a celebrity.

Oh, I almost forgot which isn’t all that surprising because he only made it to the Lincoln center by keeping his head down and doing wonderful tailoring. Victor went wrong when he listened to the judges critiques the week before.

When I first seen the preview of his collection he hands down had the best collection but he toned so much down that his final collection was more like a clothing chain going couture.

I just think this year the judges picked a winner based on viewership rather than craftsmanship.

I really wanted Kimberly to win. I mean she was the thinnest did you all not notice how she dropped a few more pounds for the final two episodes?

4 Responses to “Being Thin Don’t Always Win.”

  1. Allie Santiago October 28, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    I totally agree! Victor had it ALL for me…and then the stupid judges had to go and open their mouths…and his edits made everything boring. I do love a well-tailored collection though.

  2. Amanda October 29, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Yea….I liked the season Finale…I really had no idea whom to go with for the winner though…I just liked everything hahaha….
    at least project runway all stars is coming up!! exciting

    <3Amanda
    feast.fashion.faves
    FB
    TWEET Me!

  3. kristina@beancakes ★ November 3, 2011 at 1:13 am #

    i didn’t see this one but she’s gorgeous!!
    xx ~ ks

  4. Jo & Sue November 7, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    don’t know this show it seems really interresting

Leave a Reply

