Fasting Could Be Effective.

13 Nov

It’s Sunday and I’m in a sucky mood. Not just today but since the week before my birthday. I don’t know what the cause of this is but I don’t feel creative or want to exercise or be bothered with humans. My creativity is what matters the most. Okay, who am I kidding and my weight.

It’s moments like this that I get trapped inside my own mind and start to re-evaluate my year. 2011 thus far has been a big to-do list that I have been checking things off I bought big ticket items, went on trips and elevated career wise. I’ve been sticking to my New Year resolutions, small personal goals and life goals. Yet I feel like I haven’t done anything of valor or substance.

I’m in a rut it seems all I do is go to church, work out, go to school, and go to work, movies, shop and volunteer in that order weekly.

I feel it’s nothing fulfilling or spontaneous going on with my life that makes me excited about getting out of bed I think I’ve even gained weight after losing so much last month. I know I should count my blessing but it’s so hard when it’s so much that I’ve yet to accomplish that in all reality is minute.

Even my attire is suffering. I haven’t left the house all week to do anything; I’ve even been skipping church. I think I’m annoyed at my rut because I don’t have a remedy and I’m a guy who has a remedy for everything. As always I went to the only place I can seek sanity, church.

Today’s topic was effectiveness and are we living an effective lifestyle. It hit me like the case of the “sleepies” after a carb filled meal.

Am I being as effective as I think I am? The answer is no. Standing on the corner (where I took this pic) waiting to cross the street from church I began to think.

I don’t feel I have control in my life. Everything has been getting out of hand and unexpected things have happened. I set goals that I meet however, I don’t take time to enjoy them as well as I don’t exhaust all my resources on those that are challenging I just move on and I don’t set challenging goals that would greatly make a change in the progression of my life. I realized that I’m in a gloomy mood because I have not been effective in my own life or use the things I learn that could help me effectively.

I’m bored with school because I haven’t fully committed in an effective way, I’m over work because I haven’t used all my talents effectively and my weight and wardrobe is lackluster because I haven’t found effective ways to make the most of the gym equipment and my garments.

I really want to be happy again especially with the holidays around the corner. My new number one goal is to be effective.

I’m going on a three day fast and not for vanity reasons but as an abstract way of pushing the restart button on everything mainly since I’m embarking on a new age I think it would be great to have a new mind set.

Sunday: No carbohydrates food or liquid for 24 hours.
Monday: Only green tea and honey for 24 hours.
Tuesday: Again no food just used the day to brainstorm on new ideas, regimes and commitments.

I think this is the perfect way to accomplish more difficult goals and induce my creativity. The one way I can assure control in my life is my weight and I always appreciate myself more when I’m thinner.

We are all our own answer to our own happiness nothing can change your mood or outlook except for you. So be effective in one’s self.

Not to be so bleak but I thought I should write this to get this feeling of frustration out and I slightly see this as the spark of my creativity coming back.

By the way, that picture.

My Sunday attire has gone from bored golfer that consisted of polo’s, khakis and moccasins to brogue shoes and cardigans I’m now a retired dentist.

7 Responses to “Fasting Could Be Effective.”

  1. Nekiah November 13, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    Will (I hope you don’t mind me calling you that) –
    We have all struggled with the unhappiness of life not going the way we planned or failed some goal. We ask ourselves…what did/are we doing wrong. I have found the answer! We go wrong with trusting our own abilities to make us happy. The funny thing is most of the time when we achieve what we think would make us happy, it doesn’t! So the question is…do we really know what we want? Our wants are most times not what God wants for us. We must trust in the LORD! This may require you to let go of everything you’ve ever believed would make you happy and requires you to accept the truth that God knows what’s best for you. God wants to make something beautiful out of your life but He needs you to put your trust in Him! Until you let Him lead you; you will not be free from this cycle. I will pray for you. Remember happiness is a state of mind. You can’t base it on circumstances because they are ever changing! Let the joy of the Lord be your strength! Love you BOO! Kiah

    • BougieHippie November 13, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

      This is IT!!!! Thanks a million. I ❤ You!

  2. Antonio Maurice Daniels November 14, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    Things will get better. I think you are being too hard on yourself. From what you listed that you do, you are doing great things. Just try to have a little more fun in all that you do each day and things will get better. I very much understand what you mean about things seeming to be so routine. Fasting could really be effective in helping to improve how you emotionally feel. It does work for me. Fasting always turns around how I look and feel.

    • BougieHippie November 14, 2011 at 10:08 am #

      Hey! Haven’t seen you around these parts i ages. Thanks for the words man.

  3. kristina@beancakes ★ November 14, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    hey congratulations on your retirement! haha, i liked that one 😉 and this was such an “effective” post. and you are right that we should all try to be more effective in all that we do in life. and just by doing so, we can feel a lot better about ourselves. fasting is a great way to hit the restart button {i wish you luck with that} and cheers to feeling more effective and in control!! 😉 😉
    xo ~ k

    • BougieHippie November 14, 2011 at 10:09 am #

      LOL yes retirement is good!

      • Halil May 23, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

        I’m sorry but no. Fasting should not just be used to lose wheigt. Too many people get this into their heads. If you are overweight at 14 you need to first look at your lifestyle choices. If you just fast without changing anything else you will put the wheigt right back on. How bout doing a fruit fast. Enjoy as much fruit as you want for a week you will still lose wheigt. Add exercise eat clean raw. Please do not fast at this age especially unsupervised.

Leave a Reply

