À la carte

20 Nov


Here’s the skinny- I finally got a camera! Since April I have been taking all my pictures with my cellular trying to justify purchasing another camera after destroying two has been pretty hard till now. Thanks to my haggling skills I was able to get a camera on sale with free accessories.

I’ve been getting a rather hefty amount of requests from readers for me to do a look of the day. However, I don’t think I can commit to it, I think it would add pressure to me getting dressed daily. When it comes to me getting dressed I am already late to everything so having to actually think about what to wear would only slow me down. I like my looks to happen organically though I want to please my readers therefore whenever I really like a look I put together I will post it.

Here’s the catch, I want to add a new element to the site where I can mix my daily look with street style of others.

“À La Carte” is the name of the section I will feature my look of the day in addition to other sleek people I run into I will photograph them and add their looks to the site. The French phrase à la carte means according to the menu in reference to a menu of items priced and ordered separately i.e. my complete look. I will list the designer and price of each ensemble.

After church I decided to play with my new camera. I also liked the way my nipples looked in this top.

Scarf: Kohl’s 9.99
Shirt: Zara 29.99
Slacks: Calvin Klein 24.99
Blazer: Calvin Klein 49.99 (It made me look fat that’s why I’m not wearing it.)
Shoes: Zara 90.00

16 Responses to “À la carte”

  1. kristina November 20, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    i like your outfit here! congrats on the new camera too ~ i also love your a la carte idea ~ very cool!!
    xo ~ kristina

  2. Amanda (feast.fashion.faves} November 21, 2011 at 12:32 am #

    hot hot hot. love everything about this look. and I’m sure you didn’t look fat in the blazer…because you’re not fat to begin with!

    <3Amanda
    feast.fashion.faves
    Facebook
    Tweet Me!

  3. Allie Santiago November 21, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    YES I am so excited for this new section! Looking forward to looks of the day and street style.

  4. Kiah November 21, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    HOLY SMOKES you look sooooooooooo good!! I love love love this outfit and your hair mishap really worked out in your favor because you look so freakin GORG with super short hair! It is very sexy! I think you should do OOTD more often! Maybe start with just once per week! Kiah

  5. kelly November 23, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    GorgeouSSS U look great!!

  6. HerLateNightCravings November 29, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    Love this look! And can’t wait for more A La Carte posts!

    Jayme & Mendi @ Her Late Night Cravings

  7. kristina@beancakes ★ November 29, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    can’t wait to see this tri pepper dish that you mentioned! off topic i know 😉
    xx ~ k

  8. shoesandshelter November 30, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Super stylish and all so reasonably priced! You must be a smart shopper.

    xx Cristina

  9. simplychic December 1, 2011 at 12:44 am #

    i’m liking this new addition to your blog. glad you got a camera 🙂

    High waisted printed pencil skirt GIVEAWAY HERE

  10. Vale December 1, 2011 at 4:32 am #

    Awesome outfit ! Your blog is very original and you look very fit, surely not fat at all ! I am following you on Bloglovin 🙂 cause I wanna keep track of your interesting post and dieting adventures ! Kisses from Italy

    Fashion and Cookies
    My Twitter

  11. VIVA.V December 1, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    À La Carte what a clever idea v. original hun! As for the outfit, absolutely beautiful. The look is so suave and sophisticated without trying too hard!…and oh my gosh I’m going to collect my new camera today!! Ah I’m so excited!! : ) : ) Sooo long to crappy, pictures – hello to glossy “I can actually see what you’re wearing pictures.” Btw hurry up and follow me on twitter xxxx

  12. Clément December 2, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    Amazing look ! Love it !

  13. Alela Sirah December 3, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    Great Style love the look! Congrats on the Camera!
    http://fashionablyspeakn.blogspot.com/2011/12/why-pay-more-designer-recreation-diy.html

  14. nadia aboulhosn December 4, 2011 at 2:05 am #

    this entire outfit is amazing.

  15. Mallika December 5, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    I am a bit late but thanks for leaving a comment on my blog 🙂

    Congrats on the camera! Love the colour mustard on you!

    x Mallika
    http://fashionscript.net

  16. Antonio Maurice Daniels December 11, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    I love the new idea. Nice look.

Leave a Reply

