Sweets

8 Dec

One element of personal style is scent.

Like many other guys we think everything is a piece of cake. Picking a signature scent is just as difficult as baking a cake

A signature since is comprised of three factors; season, personal aesthetic and physical setting.

I adore having a signature scent for vanity reason i.e. a relationship or mate, having a signature scent will guarantee no one forgetting you. They say “outta sight out of mind” but we all know the number one memory provoking factor is smell. So if you have a signature scent it’s in their sheets, car and memory bank.

For example, my favorite cologne is Givenchy Pour Homme Blue Label. It works well with my naturally body scent, it’s a winner when I’m around women and men,  not over bearing yet distinctive while describing what I think my personal style is- boring but relative.

Every season I do like to change my scent, in the summer I wear Jean Paul Gaultier Le Male, now that it’s winter I am trying Givenchy Play Intense (though I don’t like the bottling and the store was completely out of Blue Label.) Typically I’m more of a classic guy my favored fragrances are L’Homme by Yves Saint Laurent, Pour Homme by Gucci, Versace Man Eau Fraiche and Dolce & Gabbana by Dolce & Gabbana. My go to fragrances that I have been nursing since high school like Versace Blue Jeans, Burberry Weekend and Rive Gauche Pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent.

Though each may have a different smell they all serve the same purpose, claiming my stake in a person mind.

How-to Pick a Signature Scent.

  1. Season: In the Fall/Winter you want a more musky smell that will over power the heavy smells of the holiday season like pine, vanilla and bark. Spring/Summer go with an airy sweet smell that will work well with the rise of your natural body odor during the sweltering heat yet loud enough to leave your mark. Cologne has three notes; Top, Middle and Base. Spray it on the card to get your first impression which may be bold, crisp or fresh then wait 15mins to get the next note that’s usually soft or floral then after 45mins smell for the base that’s the longer lasting scent the fragrance leave. Yes, this is a long time to test a scent that’s why it should be the only thing you’re shopping for like shoes.
  2.  Personal Aesthetic: This is where you figure out what impression does the scent you’re looking for pertains to your overall person including dress and sense of humor. Test the fragrance on your skin and factor your body chemistry. For example the type of body soap, deodorant and lotion plays an important part in how the fragrance will react with your natural scent. This is why it’s never a good idea to pick a scent based on how it smelled on someone else.
  3.  Physical Setting: It’s important to remember where you are wearing this scent along with your purpose for wearing it. Like picking an ensemble you want to be dressed appropriately. You don’t want to wear an extremely heavy scent when you’re at a business meeting or a weak scent when you’re in the club. Factoring in your setting is serious. The main reason why I will never part with my Burberry Weekend is because the pheromones in it exudes sex, I wear that on a date. When I’m at church I like a more dressy smell like Rive Gauche by Yves Saint Laurent.

My dad will tell you to spray your fragrances two on the chest, one on the wrist and one on the neck. My younger brother spray it in the air then walk through it. I spray the back of my neck and collar when people hug me their head goes behind my neck and when you walk away it’s the last thing they smell.

Finding your scent is easy but requires as much attention to detail as styling yourself.

I do think a woman should pick out your scent gay or straight because who else know what I guy should smell like other than the opposite sex.

5 Responses to “Sweets”

  1. Amanda {feast.fashion.faves} December 8, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    you are SO right! and I think alot of people tend to not pay much attention to their “scent”! Great tips on finding a signature scent!

    <3Amanda
    feast.fashion.faves
    Facebook
    Tweet Me!

  2. Erin December 9, 2011 at 12:26 am #

    Jean Paul is TO DIE!
    I bet you smell like an absolute dream year round 🙂

  3. Carlo Agdamag December 11, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    useful tips! ill keep these in mind! 🙂

  4. Antonio Maurice Daniels December 11, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    I like the colognes you mentioned. I have used them all, except for one. Good tips here!

  5. Saanieh Mirza December 12, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    LOVE YOUR BLOG – check out mine! http://www.pintsizedfashionista.com

Leave a Reply

