Dropping Dead Weight

31 Jan


I’m a more than brilliant gift giver! It’s very rare my friends try to compete however, my best friend from back home we’ll call her “Lynn” (you know from Girlfriends, she’s married now but if you only knew her past) may have served me on a sliver platter. How befitting was it that she got me a “Clueless” sweatshirt!

Not only is this my number three favorite movie of all time but it seems to be the theme of my conversation with this “fruit basket” I’m dealing with here. I would call them friends but I use that term for the skinny and sane people in my life howbeit, this term seems to be the best to describe these four: Tomato, Blueberry, Lemon and Watermelon.

Tomato is technically a fruit but he only really dominates in the vegetable section, Blueberry always has to be the star but doesn’t realized he only shines when added with carbohydrates like pancake batter, check here for Lemon and Watermelon has no real association except she’s built like one.

Over the weekend I had one after another come over and ask for “friendship” advice. Since my New Year’s resolution was to not let other people’s problems stress me out I’m going to stress my readers out instead.

Saturday: Tomato’s problem is he has always been the underdog in his circle since high school now in college he’s finally blossomed and found success but the circle is vocally expressing their jealousy with his new found popularity.

Sunday: Blueberry is use to running the show but only because his circle is too lazy to object yet have more than enough energy to add uninvited drama filled people to the circle now he is giving people ultimatums that’s leaving he him all alone.

Sunday Night: Lemon, like his relationships he doesn’t know when to move on and still harp on obviously dead friendships/love interests.

Monday: Watermelon now married hasn’t yet grasped the fact that it’s okay that she can’t go out and do some of the things she use to do with friends, as well as some friends aren’t going to be happy for her because mentally, physically and emotionally she’s going to outgrow the patch.

The only way to not let the conversations blow my mind or waist line I had to take it out on the elliptical. While shuffling for dear life I came to the common census. We get old, we learn more about ourselves and the people around us. We cannot expect them or us to stay the same it just don’t work like that. Every friendship has it season when its harvest time the spoiled, rotten or unripe will be left behind.

Myself in general I have three group of friends; high school, college and life which all equals out to a handful. Believe me over the years I have never had a problem with dropping that dead weight at the playground.

I’m done convincing the crazy, any advice for these basket cases?

11 Responses to “Dropping Dead Weight”

  1. kristina January 31, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

    such a great story – you should be a writer! and i LOVE that rad sweatshirt!!
    xoxo, kristina

  2. Mrsjrodatkins February 1, 2012 at 12:16 am #

    Love it! Dropping dead weight is a life lesson.

  3. Cakes and Shakes... February 1, 2012 at 5:05 am #

    So funny: toxic friends are just a nightmare. But then show me someone who won’t bore you silly with their drama!!

    http://www.cakesandshakes.wordpress.com

  4. Antonio Maurice Daniels February 1, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Tomato needs to read my article about dropping out of popularity contests. Lol! He needs to enjoy his new found popularity but should not allow that popularitiy to define him. He has to learn that with increased popularity comes increased jealousy and envy and should simply address it and deal with it. Good post!

  5. Monroe Steele February 1, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    haha…you have an interesting circle of friends..lol. i also love your poses.

    xx
    Monroe

    Fashion Steele NYC

  6. Kiah February 1, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    I need this sweat shirt! Love Clueless and you look so cute! The socks with the loafers = FABULOUS! Kiah

  7. simplychic February 1, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    lol at the clueless shirt! i love it. i dressed up as dionne one year for halloween! but didn’t every blk girl?

    p.s. thanks for the hair compliment 🙂

  8. Mockingbird February 8, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    Just had to say that you’re looking especially sharp in these pictures(ooh!)

  9. Onyxsta February 9, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    BLEURGH
    http://www.say-bleurgh.blogspot.com

    those socks are giving me LIFE!

  10. Nettan February 10, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    love the socks x

    • moel May 23, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

      :Almost all I can point out is, I’m not sure what to say! Except naturally, for the azaimng tips which are shared using this blog. I am able to think of a thousand fun ways to read the articles on this site. There’s no doubt that I will at last take action using your tips on that matter I could not have been able to take care of alone. You were so considerate to let me be one of those to profit from your useful information. Please recognize how great I enjoy the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

