Skinny Journey Home.

15 Feb

Question: How do you know if you’re depressed?

I mean I’m annoyed, anxious and obsessing about things I can’t change but I’m not eating like a hippo like most depressed people do.

I think it’s because I’ve been doing two-a-days at the gym for the past month and a half then all of a sudden my right shin, ankle and calf muscle started giving me problems. I went to the doctor, he said I’ve been over working it and I should take seven days off.

I can’t just stop working out but I don’t want to damage my leg from working out. Like how do you explain that to people? Oh yeah I’m in a wheelchair from a gnarly elliptical incident, level 13 is a killer.

Well since I’ve taken off from the gym I’ve been spending a lot of time at the Wichita Art Museum. It’s a little over two miles from my apartment so I walk to and from to make up for the time not spent on the treadmill.

I noticed this painting at the entrance of the second floor. The moment I walk in and laid eyes on this simple but powerful painting I had an “ah ha” moment.

From conversations with friends and the constant stress I put upon me this painting said so much.

Though the road of life may seem dark you must buck up and brave the long trail ahead because as much as we are afraid of it there’s only one way to success and that’s forward.

I live by “Everything is temporary.”

I feel we all want to succeed and have great success yet we just sit around waiting on that big break not taking the time and doing the ground work ourselves. We want people to help us along the road of life still we are afraid to trek out on our own. When things don’t go as we hoped we are quick to give in then question someone else’s triumphs.

The only way to win the race is to finish the course. Life is long, dark and filled with many unexpected obstacles that can jump out at you. We are own worst opponents and best cheering section. There shouldn’t be a plan B, C etc there should just be plan A and that is forward. No one owes you anything so if you don’t receive the extra support you desire then oh well life is goes on so get on.

Fat people want to be skinny, poor people want to be rich and single people want to be mated.

Nothing happens on your butt.

I blame myself for my blunders and reward myself for my advancements.

Take responsibility for your life and press on. Sometimes we are lazy in our own lives by not putting forth the effort/work because we are looking behind us as we go towards success when we should only worry about the journey ahead.

Wow! A Picture is worth a thousand words. In my case 500.

2 Responses to “Skinny Journey Home.”

  1. Antonio Maurice Daniels February 16, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    Good post! One can make the most out of his or her life by placing more investment in doing things to progress than complaining about not progressing. Your piece is a very good lesson for people to begin to understand the value of personal responsibility.

  2. kristina February 16, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    nicely put! take responsibly and hold yourself accountable. not always easy to do but definitely something that we should all practice…
    xx

Leave a Reply

