Thin People Are Lazy Too.

3 Mar

Trying to stay thin while here in Chattanooga, TN visiting my friend, after lunch we decided to hit a matinée to kill time till tonight’s festivities.

While he’s in the shower taking his time like he’s washing three bodies (I mean he was putting back the sweet potatoes fries like they were fat free) I’m going to do a quick movie review.

I saw “Wanderlust” with Jennifer Aniston and Paul Rudd.

Let’s get right to it.

Yes, Jennifer’s legs were beyond amazing. No, Paul hasn’t got new teeth yet. The movie was humorous, romantic and sappy. You know the story; thin rich couple living life in a strained relationship. Then, thin rich couple become poor and has to struggle (living on a freaking hilarious commune) to value their relationship more. Next something bad happen where the thin rich now poor couple breaks up then saves the day while becoming thin and rich all over again loving each other more than before. You know; thin rich people problems.

However that’s now what I was interested in during this film. I couldn’t keep my eyes off the costumes. I know you’re thinking the story is set in present day so what costumes. Well you can’t call it styling with the lack of originality donned by the actors.

I could tell costume designer Debra McGuire has become too comfortable dressing the young casts of “90201” and “The New Girl” because she phoned this one in and I mean literally phone this one into some nearby showroom.

The movie takes place on a hippie commune where residents have been recluse from society (clothing stores specifically) for several years however the wardrobe was youthful, trendy and some pieces were obvious store bought modern designs for example, Cynthia Lamaide’s pieces worn by half the cast during the badly done digitally dubbed guitar scene.

Though this was a nice movie I can’t help to be put off by the fact that nothing about the costume was authentic, vintage or man-made. I’m very big (the only thing big about me) about accurate cinema styling when depicting a particular culture or time period. Clothing tells half the story so it’s important that the styling is as genuine as the script. I notice people dressing aesthetic before I actually get into what they are even about.

Overall, decent movie lazy visual effort let me not even start on how at the beginning of the movie Malin Akerma went from not so bad extension to an apparent horrible full wig.

Meanwhile my friend is out the shower time to hit the streets!

Is costuming important to you in a film?

4 Responses to “Thin People Are Lazy Too.”

  1. kristina March 3, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    have fun!! and yes, costumes make the movie imo! i’ve been wanting to see this film too 😉
    xx

  2. Kiah March 3, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    I must see this movie! You have lovely hands and I’m digging your shoes and bracelets! Kiah

  3. Erin March 3, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    Look at how thin your crossed legs are. I kind of missed the rest of your post as a consequence

  4. Monroe Steele March 4, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    thanks for the reveiw…i was thinking of seeing this. your commentary is hilarious and yes I take notice of the wardrobes also.

    xx
    Monroe

    Fashion Steele NYC

Leave a Reply

