Sexy Savages

17 Jul

Let me just say this; Oliver Stone needed “Savages” like I need a cube of cheese after a 7day juice fast. His career has been on life support since “Alexander.”

You know the premise, hot in-shape California pot heads Chon (Taylor Kitsch) and Ben (Aaron Johnson) starts a dope business then,  gain huge success soon after the cartel wants in, sexy pot heads says no, cartel kidnaps jealously thin dog faced girlfriend Ophelia (I do not like Blake Lively.) Washboard abs pot heads kills, will and deals to get slinky blonde girl back. Everyone rats on each other; everyone wants more money, a couple of uncomfortable sex scenes, a lot of homoeroticism and a plethora of foolish mistakes.

Yes this was your run of the mill young-drug-damsel-in-distress movie. However, it was directed brilliantly but I still didn’t feel the same cinematic lust, power and gritty story telling as in Stone’s other works like, “Scarface”, “U Turn” and “Natural Born Killer.”

I honestly liked a lot about his movie like, Elena’s (Salma Hayek) un-aged mug, her wardrobe and that rack! The women may hack up the English language but she looks amazing doing it. Her acting is superb too.

I did like how everything was so “digital-age” and not so serious all the time. Let me not forget the creepy villain Benicio Del Toro played as Lado. I think he is a phenomenal actor I mean have you seen “Traffic” or “21 Grams” the guy always delivers.

The thing that I wasn’t too sure of was the love story. I didn’t get why the girl was so important or how there was none but three physical interaction between Ophelia and the guys to really display their bond. There were more dialog and bonding between Chon and Ben. I was waiting on their sex scene.

I also hated Ophelia voice over! For Pete’s sake she has a horrid lisp. Who wants to hear that?

In all it’s a good summer flick. It has everything you need; drugs, murders, wit and sex or lack thereof.  Oh yeah, Travolta grace the screen to give it some sense of credibility and nostalgia. I’ve been noticing that in a lot of movies here lately. Ageing Hollywood male stars popping up in younger audience driven films to revamp their career i.e. Matthew Mcconaughey in “Magic Mike” and Tom Cruise in “Rock of Ages.”

I give this movie 3 Celery sticks! Ooh like what I did there?

Check out the thin pretty people. Let me know what you think.

3 Responses to “Sexy Savages”

  1. Kiah July 17, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    Thanks for the review. I’ve been wondering if I should go see it. Kiah

  2. Trice July 19, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    I saw this last Friday and your review is spot on!!!

Leave a Reply

