Unnecessarily Over Indulgent?

29 Aug

Going through my closet this morning I realized that my wardrobe has changed drastically in the last two years. Not just waist size, I mean my overall style from the colors I wear, cuts, labels and paring. I’ve even noticed that I shop differently if not as much. I’m even more comfortable physically in my clothing.

I remember my freshman year of high school my dad, little brother and I was out shopping; on our way home my dad asked me if I had any problems at school with people trying to fight me. I thought he was referring to my sexuality. Naturally I was ready to lash out but quite the contrary, he was talking about my style.

He told me that most times when people dress nice consistently that cause jealousy.

In that moment I realized my dad was taking an interest in how I dressed. Men’s fashion is one thing my dad and I connect on.

After that conversation I became very conscious about the clothes I purchased and how I wore them. That’s where it all started…

Next, it was my family and friends complementing me, and then teachers and when I got to university the same thing happened along with guys telling me the same about my attire.

Before I knew it I had a closet full of overpriced things I didn’t like nor wore more than once.

I began to dress for others rather than myself. Yes, I enjoyed my looks and going to the mall but I never went with the idea of what do I want to see MYSELF in. I went shopping with the complements of all those people ringing in my head.

Consequently, I was shopping and styling myself with the inspiration of… well I can’t wear this shirt because I got a complement in it twice, I can’t not dress up for this class today because the teacher said she like how I present myself or I can’t go visit my family in just cut-offs and a tank because they love when I’m flashy. Also, I can’t wear a simple Old Navy shirt or Faded Glory denim because friends like my labels. It got to the point I couldn’t dress relax to church because my parents wanted to show me off during fellowship.

I was spending a small fortune trying to keep others interested. What’s awakening about all of this is that we all do it. We all dress/shop in competition, expectation and complements.

It’s not a bad thing, just with age comes true personal style, by that I mean freedom. Cut to me today: I’ve sold almost all my designer jeans, sunglasses and shirts. Only because now I will wear what I personally truly want to wear howbeit designer, thrift, homemade or low-end or casual, dress, flashy or preppy.

Take a gander at your closet and your shopping method. Are your purchases impaired by compliments you’ve received or attention you desire?

4 Responses to “Unnecessarily Over Indulgent?”

  1. Antonio Maurice Daniels September 7, 2012 at 2:57 am #

    Many people often dress to gain the approval of others. Many folk will not even consider putting on clothes that may gain the slightest negative reaction. As with all matters, I don’t let anyone have any influence over what I do, including what I wear. For me, being liberated in one’s style of dress is crucial to truly being one’s self. Your dad gave you a great insight about how people will become jealous of you when you dress well consistently. Many adults and children become easily jealous of individuals who dress well consistently. Good job with this piece!

  2. BougieHippie September 7, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    Hey!!!! Thanks, I like your take and response on thing.

  3. vigor November 2, 2014 at 7:53 am #

    What’s up to all, it’s actually a good for me to pay a quick visit
    this site, it includes helpful Information.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Over indulgent | Atyourservices - August 31, 2012

    […] Unnecessarily Over Indulgent? | […]

Leave a Reply

