Appetite Suppressant (NYFW Menswear ss13)

8 Sep

Day three of New York’s Fashion Week and I have lost all cravings for anything remotely resembling food. The men’s shows are getting off to a superb start! Thus far not too many designers are playing with bold color for spring however, things may change in upcoming shows. Here are some of my most desired looks from the past three days.


The collection sent down the runway by Joseph Abboud was nothing but sleek, perfect, cocky and bold. This was my most absolute savored show as of right now. The models were great, the fits were just marvelous and just reeked “F your spring/summer style I’m thin and my garments are fitting me.”


What does seem to be the theme of the men collections I’ve noticed everyone is doing color blocking in monochromatic colors. Nicholas K knocked this out creatively in a nomadic concept. I like the utilitarian aspect for the looks and versatility of the jackets and pants as well as a reason for me to keep my gladiator sandals for next year.


I completely adored show from Richard Chai’s Love. This collection had a very sterile aesthetic while still being edgy without all the hard lines and outrageous colors. It’s the epitome of making a huge impact without trying too hard.


Shades of Grey are very on trend with their spring/summer presentation. It has everything: prints, coolness, and a realistic representation of what guys are wearing right now. I rather like the relax beach-like idealistic look of this collection it’s an awesome alternative to the tailored fitted looks other designers are doing as well as these looks are very heat friendly.


I’m not a fan of loose fit clothing or plaid but this collection from the duo at Duckie Brown still manage to have structure. More street compared to the brand’s military looks from past shows. To me this collection was a simplistic approach to urban wear with a hint of goth and vatho-esque.

Leave a Reply

