Eating Isn’t on The Calendar

11 Jan

Well, fellas it’s that time again. Some of you may be returning to the gym in preparation for your spring/summer bodies however, as in fashion one must always be a season ahead so I’m readying my body for next autumn/winter and not a moment too soon. It’s Menswear Fall-Winter 2013-14 Men Fashion Week (London, Milan and Paris.) For the next two weeks I’m going to do my skinniest to bring you my favorite runaway collections from across the pond because unlike most I’m not a greedy fat pig fashion hog, I share. First up London!

TopMan FW 13 London
Unlike majority of my diets this collection from European retailer TopMan is solid. I’m a big fan of the monochromatic look in addition to these oversize parkas, sweaters and beyond brilliant shoes everything about this collection is right. The color scheme of snow white to kumquat somehow remains understated paired with the embellished coats. This whole collection is like a well styled ski weekend.

Richard Nicoll FW 13 London
Richard Nicoll is like my favorite diet pill that has been discontinued due to side effects; he can’t do any wrong in my eyes. Every season he delivers. Love the cool Jackson Pollock-esque print as well as the sleek two tone suits. Next fall I’ve decided to wear oversize sweaters which will be a drastic change for me but thanks to this collection I have been inspired, even have a new way to wear my skull caps. Richard Nicoll’s collection has a late 90’s hip-hop star vibe to it mixed with today’s dapper dude and a hint of blue collar worker.

Jonathan Saunders FW 13 London
The highlight of Jonathan Saunders fall/winter 13 presentation are the shoes. The dark patent leather with the pop of color sole is very on trend even this upcoming spring. Though, I’m not a fan of the cuts on the ombré shirts I am intrigued by the elastic cuffs on the pants; reminds me of fat people eating pants for skinny stylish people. My favorite part of the collection is the color blocking on the coats. I’m a “huge” outerwear connoisseur; the coats alone are an ensemble themselves.

Hardy Amies FW 13 London
I adore any men’s line that can be ultra sleek while remaining masculine. Hardy Amies of Savile Row collection is so reminiscent of how my father dresses; very cool, dandy with just a hint of outdoors-men. I mean any designer that can get a guy to put down his beer and throw on a parka is fine by me. Personally I would change the cut of the slacks but I get it.

Kenzo FW 13 London
Kenzo! There aren’t enough words for this collection. You know you have pure magic when you can’t decide what piece to highlight. The outerwear is just simply phenomenal. Humberto Leon and Carol Lim stayed true to their vision of innovative prints and paired it up with superb tailoring and a strong yet vibrant color scheme. The collection is futuristic without being a cliché. I want to get my hands on the stripe pant/sweater look 26.

Andrea Pompilio FW 13 London
I’m always up for a fun and whimsical collection which Italian designer Andrea Pompilio delivered at Pitti Uomo. Sometimes what makes a great collection is a great show. Great styling, great use of pink and complimentary colors, great tailoring as well as great casting I see myself all over this collection.

One Response to “Eating Isn’t on The Calendar”

  1. Mónica - Mes Voyages à Paris Style Blog January 12, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

    Cool colours!!
    xx
    M.
    NEW YORK FASHION WEEK CONTEST!!!

Leave a Reply

