Eating Isn’t on The Calendar (Milan)

14 Jan

Food I can live without but not sleep. With the time difference between the United States and Italy I can’t possibly stay up till the wee hours of the morning to watch the live streaming shows of Menswear Men’s Fashion Fall/Winter 2013-14 and still make my 6 a.m. gym call time. On the other hand the time difference it’s like Christmas all over again because I get to wake up with the latest runway shows in my inbox! Today is the last day of Milan menswear fashion week and here are my favorite shows.

Roberto Cavalli FW 13 Milan
Roberto Cavalli opted for a presentation over a runway show and it worked to his advantage. I usually scroll right pass Cavalli menswear due to his ability to send confusion down the runway however, this collection is ultra cool, dapper and tough.

Frankie Morello FW 13 Milan
This is my first time viewing Frankie Morello and I’m pleasantly surprised. I like fun clothes with a hint of sensibility/tailoring. The duo showed some great looks with prints, wovens and knits. To me the collection is very fashionable-corner-boy-hunter. From the camouflage-esque prints and the bagginess of the sizing as well as the sneakers & skull caps.

Burberry FW 13 Milan
Christopher Bailey sends genius down the runway again for Burberry Prorsum. I want every single jacket, coat and bag RIGHT NOW! I have been trying my best to stay away from animal print do to its abundance on my Instagram and magazine pages but I think I’m ready for something leopard. Not to mention I think this plum color is going to be big next fall/winter. The silhouettes are pure English howbeit presenting in Milan.

Emporio Armani FW 13 Milan
Not only was every single model beyond hot in Giorgio Armani’s collection for the sport brand Emporio Armani but the textiles were the star of this show. I cant get over how Armani effectively took activewear material and tailored it superbly. Everything about this collection is classic yet fashion forward from the different hues, super sleek cuts and non traditional fabrics.

Neil Barrett FW 13 Milan
Neil Barrett is the style I call myself going for but unlike this collection I miss the mark. My favorite highlight of the show are the color block sweaters and the slim cut of the pants. An otherwise understated collection was anything less than “men’s sportswear” when paired with the high cut of the jackets and strong but subtle color choices. Looks like leather and sweaters will continue on next year.

One Response to “Eating Isn’t on The Calendar (Milan)”

  1. I like what you guys are usually up too. This sort of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the good works guys I’ve included you guys to my personal blogroll.

Leave a Reply

