Eating Isn’t on The Calendar (Paris)

18 Jan

I knew today was going to be a smashing day, woke up this morning my most skinny denim was too baggy and the belt I picked to pair with them even on the last notch was still too big. I literally did a victory lap around the river. I was going to wait till Monday to do a summary of favorite shows of Menswear Fall/Winter 2013-14 Men’s Fashion Week Paris but there are just too many inspiring and outstanding shows to choose from. So I’m dividing it up into two parts. With five days and 40 shows Paris has the best line up…per usual.

MSGM FW 13 Paris
MSGM completely understands that fashion is expressive. When I first seen this presentation I found myself in a good mood even though I haven’t had solid food in three days. I am toying with the idea of flower prints for spring and seeing these brilliant jackets I’m sure I’ll be ready for full on floral by next fall. This is a very sporty preppy collection.

Kris Van Assche FW 13 Paris
If you’re like me you hate having to get dressed for work after the gym, well Belgian designer Kris Van Assche is here to the rescue. I love the combining of varsity and professional attire in this collection. Though, it gives the collection an interesting look visually it somehow seems effortless and wearable. It has this refusal to grow up school boy charm about the overall collection.

Valentino FW 13 Paris
Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli of Valentino are complete masterminds. This collection wreaks sophisticated gentlemen. A first glance you see a suave slim contour design but upon further examining this collection you see a tough prep school geek chic vibe to each look. I’m more attracted to the leather and animal hide overcoats, jackets with monochromatic color blocking and ankle length slacks.

3.1 Phillip Lim FW 13 Paris
I personally can never pull off the rough rocker look however Phillip Lim’s collection is a how-to-guide in doing so. I am partial to the edginess added by the leather and strong cut of the jackets as well as the horizontal line and military-rockabilly addition.

Louis Vuitton FW 13 Paris
Kim Jones needs an award for this Louis Vuitton show. This is the only collection thus far to convey a complete story throughout. You can find something to wear to any fashionable environment in this collection; work, play, travel and black tie. The entire show is just splendid nothing more nothing less.

Givenchy FW 13 Paris
All I have to say about this Givenchy collection is I will never attend anywhere that involves food ever again if I can get these leather short shorts. Just get into the collarless and lapel-less jackets. Great androgynous lines, nice ingenuity and fashion forward with the right hint of ratchet. My favorite part of the show is the coats tied around the waist. I like having things to cover up my enormous butt especially if I’m wearing those shorts.

Leave a Reply

