Eating Isn’t on The Calendar (pt. 2)

21 Jan

I’ve watched about 108 menswear fashion shows over the last two weeks excited to post which shows are my favorite and will be my inspiration for next Fall/Winter 2013-14. I have been literally forgetting to eat because when I get home I get right in front of the computer and devour each collection from London, Milan to Paris. The models alone give me more than enough reasons to set the kitchen on fire. Yesterday was the final day of Men Fashion Week Fall/Winter 2013-14 Paris and with the most shows of all the fashion weeks I had to turn Paris into a two posts. Here are my picks.

Paul Smith FW 13 Paris
Bright, smart and enlivening are the only words to describe this collection by Paul Smith. Taking a modernistic approach to an antiquated style of menswear I thoroughly enjoyed this show from the exaggerated hound’s-tooth patterns, furry sweaters and effulgent colored slacks. I feel this collection is buoyant British man.

Hugo by Hugo Boss FW 13 Paris
Hugo by Hugo Boss simply put is a sleek collection. Very streamlined with this futuristic aesthetic, I am completely into this red suit.

Dior Homme FW 13 Paris
This Dior Homme show by Kris Van Assche is beautiful. I never use the word beautiful. It has to be the best collection this entire fashion week. Being that Gattaca is one of my top favorite fashion movies I seen the inspiration immediately. The lines are incredible and the color as basic as they may be are so vivid accompanied by the amazing textile choices. The tailoring is impeccable especially in look 6. I want an invisible waist just like these models.

Wooyoungmi FW 13 Paris
I really adore the jackets and coats sent down the runway by Wooyoungmi; great impact to a minimalistic collection. The mustard and blue softens up this masculine show.

Saint Laurent FW 13 Paris
Saint Laurent has Hedi Slimane back and he is still a guy after my own heart- skinny everything! Uber thin models with painted on denim and oversized tops to make you look even thinner. This collection has an early 90’s grunge/rock’n roll appeal to it.

AMI FW 13 Paris
At first glance I wrote this AMI presentation off as very plain hipster department store basic. However, I kept coming back to it comparing it to other collections this week and it’s very posh in a city boy kind of way. The collection is very “city” even from the backdrop of the subway you can see all the different type of guys that would be on your morning subway ride to work in each piece. The student, the educator, the dancer, the dope boy, the business professional, the industrial worker and the freelancer are all represented by very stylish and luxe garments.

2 Responses to “Eating Isn’t on The Calendar (pt. 2)”

  1. TOAST&GRITS. January 26, 2013 at 8:49 am #

    I’m laughing at you saying you’ve been forgetting to eat. Fashion can even starve you lol and I love the Saint Laurent collection.

    • BougieHippie January 26, 2013 at 11:24 am #

      Fashion is the best appetite suppressant.

Leave a Reply

