A Celebration of Skinny

28 Feb

Shipley & HalmosClothing: Shipley & Halmos

Today is my 7th anniversary of being a vegetarian! February 28th 2006 I gave up all meat: pork, beef, poultry, and fish cold turkey. I originally gave it up for Lent that year but when the 40 days/nights were over I didn’t crave it any more as well as, I noticed so many positive changes in body not to mention the smell of meat gave me a headache. For example, I noticed I had more stamina, energy and lost 34 pounds.

To better understand being a vegetarian or becoming one I did research on broadly defining the lifestyle. I wanted to know more prior to knowing only vegetarians eat mainly fruit, vegetables, legumes, grains, seeds, and nuts. I found like myself many vegetarians eat eggs and/or dairy products but avoid hidden animal products such as beef and chicken stocks, lard, and gelatin.

Lacto-ovovegetarians exclude meat, poultry, and fish but include dairy products and eggs. Most vegetarians in the US are lacto-ovovegetarians including myself.

Being born and raised in Texas, coming from a “huge” family (all puns intended) of carnivores I constantly get questioned to why I made the switch and how do I maintain the lifestyle. Again it’s important to know being a vegetarian is a lifestyle not a diet. Not only will you see cosmetic changing, how you live your life changes too. As for myself I live a very organic environmental friendly life in how I conduct my household, shop and dress.

My favorite seven benefits of vegetarianism.

  1. Healthy skin: My diet is rich in water-based and plant foods that are a rich source of antioxidants and vitamins ideal for healthier skin every season and helps with skin elasticity resulting in youthful skin. I have a natural permanent glow not to mention how well my acne cleared up.
  2. Increased energy: With my body spending less time digesting animal protein, an energy boost has been a nice side effect.
  3. Saves Money for Clothing: By shopping the perimeter of the grocery store (usually the healthy section not the meat laden middle of the store) and stocking up on high-fiber, highly nutritious food, I shrank almost 25% of my food budget; I use that money for new clothes.
  4. Obesity: Point blank period.
  5. Focus More on Proper Nutrition: I care about my intake more and always find myself explaining other ways of nutrition to meat eater. These five categories in particularly: protein, calcium, iron, vitamin D and vitamin B-12. All can be found in tofu, kale, sunlight, spinach and dairy products.
  6. Prevent Diseases: Reduce risk of food-borne illnesses, build strong bones, be more ‘regular’ riding your body of waste and living longer. Anyone who knows me know I hardly ever get sick.
  7. Develop a Better Palate: I use more seasoning /spices than salt & pepper when I cook. I can really taste flavors and discovered new delicacies.
8 Responses to “A Celebration of Skinny”

  1. Lue Roberts February 28, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    That was an amazing blog. Actually have me considering a new “life style” . Seriously, because those five facts could do my life great justice. Keep up the amazing work Oliver!

    -Lue

    • BougieHippie February 28, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

      Thank you for stopping by! Glad I could inspire and entertain. Tell your friends and keep coming back!

  2. Desmond March 1, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    I’m late, but congrats!! My grandfather has been a vegetarian since the mid 70’s. He’ll be 87 this year. He’s strong and has had both hips replaced, but his recovery time was so short.

    • BougieHippie March 1, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

      Thank-you! That’s awesome is he thin and a great cook?

  3. KS March 2, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    this is all so very true!

  4. Kiah March 2, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

    I love how the pics change up. My fave is the one with the umbrella. I don’t eat read meat but I do eat turkey, fish & chicken. Did you give up all dairy products as well? Oh wait you said just meat. duh.

  5. Antonio Maurice Daniels March 3, 2013 at 4:27 am #

    Congrats! Although I’m not a vegetarian (and don’t have plans to make this lifestyle change), people need to incorporate healthier foods into their diet. People are dying and not looking their best because of the foods they eat. Excellent job of providing your readers with several benefits of a vegetarian lifestyle.

    • BougieHippie March 3, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

      Thanks! Health is just as as important as looks. So why not find great ways to be healthy as we do looking great.

Leave a Reply

