If Words Were Food.

17 Apr

Telephone
While I was home visiting my family and friends one thing I avoided other than the dessert laded dining room table was dead conversations.

As adults we become more conscious about the things we put into our mouths as our metabolism slows down in the efforts of a dwindling waistline. With age are we as focused on the things that come out our mouths? Are we satisfied with the conversations we have with our peers? Are the same topics up for discussion as we sat around the lunch table in high school? Have these repetitive and exhausted conversations caused many friendships to dwindle?

Conversation content is how we connect with people; it is what help grow a relationship or cause a relationship to evaporate.

The best part of my visit home was realizing how my friends and I have grown so much. Yes some are pudgier than last year so are their kids but the things we share and talk about are vast, real and exciting.

Topics we talked about in our teens and early twenties aren’t even a slight interest to us now. The conversations I had with friends over lunch were so enthralling and refreshing I forgot to eat. For me, that’s beyond a win.

This got me to thinking, conversation content is key. It’s not how often you talk to a person that gauges or grow your relationship is about what exactly are you discussing and sharing.

What I’ve noticed is that with age comes not only a different focus but a certain level of honest. My conversations with my friends, family and more importantly my parents are more eye opening, relative and authentic. The topics we converse about I don’t think I would ever shared 10 years ago.

Even in dating, where once I was content with knowing about a guy’s favorite food, color, movie and designer now I care about children, education, health, religion, finances, upbringing, and sometimes politics or sex.

Many people I’ve interacted with say that if someone can’t hold a decent conversation then there is no reason in continuing. I believe that anyone can hold a conversation just what about.

Some people are going to be stuck in their heydays, high school or gossiping about others to avoid the things they are dealing with in their lives as well as, people who make every conversation about something negative in their life or one upping you with their successes. I know for me those are some reasons why I don’t pick up the phone or keep dates with people.

A part of having style is being able to maneuver in any setting, same for conversation.

What is unsettling with me is having a conversation with someone my age and they aren’t well informed or the content is juvenile.

Reevaluate the reason you have/haven’t kept in contact with certain people. I’m sure it’s due to the content of your conversations. Also, ask yourself, are you challenging these people with the topics you discuss?

8 Responses to “If Words Were Food.”

  1. Christina Atkins April 17, 2013 at 11:14 am #

    I love this! Conversation content is very important in your adult life, and not being able to talk about the things happening around you is #InYourVoice juvenile.

    • BougieHippie April 17, 2013 at 11:42 am #

      I’m glad you liked it. A part of growing up is being able to share you experiences. Have something real to talk about.

  2. stylentonic April 18, 2013 at 3:38 am #

    I want this Burberry outfit so bad!!!

    • BougieHippie April 18, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

      I’ve been seeing it all over the place! I want the button down in this print.

  3. TOAST&GRITS. April 18, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    Wow, nice concept!

  4. Nora May 4, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    *dessert

Leave a Reply

