Thinspiration: “He Got Game”

30 May

attitude-Anorexic Escapades-hahn (1)

I hate sport just as much as I hate being fat however, to be active is an integral part of shedding these unwanted massive thighs. One sport that I haven’t witness any wide people participate in is basketball.

It’s safe to assume that basketball is a high calorie burning activity. Still me with any possibility of scaring up my legs this close to short shorts season (knit shorts are big this season) or pulling my already stubborn hamstrings isn’t something I’m willing to partake in.

In middle school my dad really pushed me to try sports even to the extent of forcing me to the neighborhood park with my younger brother not to leave until I played at least one game. Howbeit, I was more interested in gawking at the local boys all sweaty and glisten as I gabbed with the girls.

I mean what did my pops expect; I wore full ensembles to the park. I wasn’t there to sweat I was there to watch the lean guys of the block undress as they worked up one.

Not the case today.

In order to look good in savory ensembles one must actually fit in them. Presently if any sweat provoking activity has the promise of weight-loss I’m “game.”

Like many of you I am pro “stylish perspiration” going through the May issue of Attitude magazine I was instantly inspired to take up dribbling again.

The spread “He Got Game” shot by Jeff Hahn is athletic/fashion thinspiration personified.

Upon being thin I need garment motivation to be physically active. With countless Tumblr and men’s magazines pages featuring our favorite pro ball players taking a fancy to premium menswear this editorial is sure to inspire many otherwise anti sport fashion coinsurers to rethink athleticism.

Featuring model Kirtis Franklyn, Hahn did an excellent job of capturing the latest designer threads this season paired with typical active wear in an inner-city ball court mise en scène.

My favorite aspect of the shoot is how the fearless “flamboyant” garments mesh seamlessly with otherwise inflexible hoodies, jerseys and sneakers. Let’s face it- guys like to play dress up no matter the backdrop.

These looks not only tell an urbane fashion story but the juxtaposition gives it an acceptable wearable aspect to runway fashion. Echoing what rappers and athletics are presenting now mixing presumably feminine clothing in a hyper masculine atmosphere. Not to mention these photos are reflective of basketball courts today.

People like getting dressed to go out regardless the ambiance. I am enthralled with guys getting back to the fun and peacock-ing of fashion like in the 40’s 70’s and 80’s before sexuality assumptions made menswear self-conscious.

Tough and chic can both be used in a sentence to describe menswear. Meanwhile, if I had the bedazzled ball like the one here I would have played more often or gotten beat up, worked out either way.

attitude-Anorexic Escapades-hahn (2)

attitude-Anorexic Escapades-hahn (3)

attitude-Anorexic Escapades-hahn (4)

attitude-Anorexic Escapades-hahn (5)

attitude-Anorexic Escapades-hahn (6)

attitude-Anorexic Escapades-hahn (7)

attitude-Anorexic Escapades-hahn (8)

attitude-Anorexic Escapades-hahn (9)

attitude-Anorexic Escapades-hahn (10)

attitude-Anorexic Escapades-hahn (11)

attitude-Anorexic Escapades-hahn (12)

2 Responses to “Thinspiration: “He Got Game””

  1. TOAST&GRITS. May 31, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    This is a great post. Some nice pieces – although I still wouldn’t be caught playing sports I’d still buy them.

  2. live free June 6, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    Reblogged this on all around this world , funs,news… feel free.

Leave a Reply

