Hunger Rant! (CFDA Awards)

4 Jun

I have a Google alert for all things thin. Right on time I was reminded June 3 was the 2013 Council of Fashion Designers of America awards.
Anorexic Escapades Tim Coppens FW 13 New York
Being a menswear enthusiast I was ecstatic at the nominees for the two menswear awards.

Menswear Designer of the Year: Thom Browne, Michael Bastian and Steven Cox & Daniel Sliver of Duckie Brown.

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Tim Coppens, Todd Snyder and Dao-Yi Chow & Maxwell Osborne of Public School.

I haven’t ate since yesterday’s breakfast where I had egg whites and spinach. I don’t know about you but when I’m hungry I get frustrated, now I must vent about my disdain of the CFDA Awards which will broadcast tonight on CDFA.com.

NYFW-ToddSnyder-ss13

Men’s apparel hasn’t been this vast or experimental since the 80’s which is inspiring some awesome artistic and polished collections from designers directed towards men. Personally I am excited for the current state of men’s fashion. The variations of the fashion male’s points of views, risk takers and blurred lines of masculine/feminine have resulted in an abundance of fashionable aesthetics.

Whatever your personal style all menswear designers are borrowing from one another howbeit, street, structured or simplistic. That’s why this year’s nominees were at no surprise and a brilliant deserving choice for their contributions to today’s men’s garments.

For me the most pleasing factor about the nominations of the CFDA awards was that the collections each designer was nominationed for were featured on my blog as my savored spring/summer collections.

NYC-Fashion-Week-Duckie-Brown-ss13

My picks to win was Duckie Brown for Menswear Designer of the Year which Cox & Silver lost to Thom Browne and it was a free for all in the category of Swarovski award for menswear where Public School took home the award.

NYFW-PublicSchool-ss133

Here’s why I don’t believe Thom Browne should have received Menswear Designer of the Year, though brown makes entertaining clothing they’re not fashionable nor innovative or inspiring. I believe to win in this category you have to be doing something new, wearable and diverse in menswear. To me Browne’s collection reminds me of the flamboyant rich gay elderly uncle that lives in Miami with this “roommate.” His garments aren’t grasping but more so an aged campy version of Marc Jacob.

Duckie Brown should have won because these guys’ collection is simply cool men clothing. Cox and Silver has managed to take the standard options of men’s attire infused street appeal, Asian innovation and classic tailoring without scaring consumers or distorting their overall aesthetic. Duckie Brown’s collection is an American brand that is unusual but alluring; that doesn’t happen often in American fashion. I will admit the brand isn’t commercial or universal neither is Thom Browne per contra to the life they breathe into Perry Ellis’s ss/13 collection.

NYFW-Michael-Bastian-ss13

I would even award Michael Bastian because he is the most commercial of the three. His collection has a multitude of looks for all guys but that can be a problem in itself as well as helpful when designing for brands like GANT.

I have many great reasons for each designer’s triumph in the Swarovski Designer of the Year award although I am pleased with Public School. Chow and Osborne create hip, versatile and flawless garment that’s representative of current men’s fashion. It isn’t often you get dope and minimal clothing in one collection. These guys deliver and have room to grow which will keep them around. I believe these guys are on the cusp of introduction into pop culture.

These awards has got my metabolism pump for NYFW SS/14 this September to see what all the designers will send down the runway to attest their growth and endowment to menswear.

2 Responses to “Hunger Rant! (CFDA Awards)”

  1. TOAST&GRITS. June 5, 2013 at 7:10 am #

    Good post, I really love the way Public School designs jackets…that blue one is screaming “buy me!” lol. Good day!

    • BougieHippie June 6, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

      Public School is a really cool brand that I think young guys today will enjoy. As much as I’m happy you enjoyed this post. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

