Eat Up: Here come the boys. (More) London Menswear ss/14

17 Jun

Am I the only one that repeatedly walks into the kitchen opens the refrigerator door or cabinets as if food will magically appear knowing you haven’t went grocery shopping in weeks? That’s how I’ve been with Pitti Uomo and London menswear fashion week ss/14. All day I have been refreshing my computer screen of premier fashion sites to fill up on new collections. After viewing yesterday’s and today’s shows these are my favorite of the week thus far.

Anorexic Escapades Christopher Kane ss14

This is my first time viewing Christopher Kane’s work. His previous work for Versus Versace was well received by many but now creating his own line you can see his innovation and artistic work will be missed. This collection is everything of today’s youth. Its fun, structured and creative. The more I become a fan of prints/graphics I am excited to see how an expected busy print can be executed so simple and magnificent. This is a beautiful collection I’m in awe of how well the garments are made.

Anorexic Escapades Jonathan Saunders ss14

Jonathan Saunders knows what works, he makes my “Favorites List” every season. This season is no different with his ingenious mix media use of graphics, ombre, stripes and transparency. He take common aesthetics like business casual and collegiate and turns them into fashion forward pieces of art still with a London boy appeal.

Anorexic Escapades Lee Roach ss14

Though Lee Roach isn’t necessarily my style I did however find this collection well made and wearable. Roach was able to convey his austere approach with the help of straps, cinched waists and a paired down version of camouflage. It’s spring fashion for the anti-color fashion guy.

Anorexic Escapades Richard James ss14

Relax and dandy is all there is to describe Richard James’s runway show. This is what spring fashion embodies; color, easiness and pure style. From the fabrics he use to the embroidered espadrilles this is a great meet in the middle of youth and aged business man.

Anorexic Escapades Richard Nicoll ss14

Richard Nicoll is a genius at sportswear in my eyes. He knows what a guy my age wants to wear during the warmer months. I don’t like to dress up when its hot out but I still want to look sharp and current. His collections are always utilitarian and this show is just that with the addition of prints, patterns and Neo-Classical remnants giving simply garments an unexpected sexy strong vibe.

Leave a Reply

