À la carte

16 Jul

I hate paying for food and I hate paying for clothes. I use to love diets considering it meant no eating food, no purchasing food and no shortage of money due to food but, today every new diet requires a trip to the grocery store, WTF?! Which leads me to my latest desire–suits. I for the better half of the year have been trying to convince myself to buy a new suit.

I have a personal aversion to suits mainly being that they are bulky, hot and I just look flat out humongous in suits. I challenged myself to not make any fashion purchases this year until I find/buy at least one suit that fit me. With my online wish-list piling up It’s now or never (I got things to buy) I’ve starved enough.

I was at Dillard’s catching their extra 30% off sale and decided to try on this Perry Ellis suit that was originally $350.00, that was marked down to 199.99 with 50% off and an extra 30% off at the register. I scored this at first site office-worker suit for $76.35!

Next, I just took it to my seamstress Lynn for her to take in the waist (which she fought me about because I wanted it taken in within an inch of my life,) tapper and cuff the legs and slim the sleeves. I think I might have her slim the sleeves a bit more. Me being the lithe purchaser I am after listening to Lynn talk about her boyfriend and kids for an hour I got her to knock the alteration cost from 68 bucks to 45 bucks. So in total I spent $121.35 on this grey suit an “of the moment” color, versatile and season-less also, it looks more fashionable and not as chunky as I thought it would be. See people, I even put my clothes on a diet.

There is greatness in having a seamstress or tailor, man’s true best-friend.

Anorexic Escapades Skinny Suit 3

Specical thanks to Nick Drowatzky for shooting the images and SKINNYFATTIES for tailoring my tie.
Anorexic Escapades Skinny Suit

Suit: Perry Ellis Dillard’s $76.35
Dress Shirt: Lands’End $15
Tie: Bergamo New York (Tailored by SKINNYFATTIES)
Moccasin Borlas: Via Spiga $99
Accessories: (watch Guess, bracelet Michael Kors, tie bar Kenneth Cole)

9 Responses to “À la carte”

  1. Desmond Collins July 16, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

    Amazing deal on the suit. I tell people all the time that the fit of your clothes makes a major difference in how you look. The sleeves fit very well I don’t think any more tailoring is needed. Oh and yes you look very slim no bulk added.

    • BougieHippie July 16, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

      You are the best charmer! But I do agree Even the most simple looks can be a scene taker with the perfect fit. We’ve all seen bad fit happen to stylish people…tisk tisk tisk.

  2. mizvia July 16, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

    Wow! You are quite handsome 🙂

  3. Alex July 16, 2013 at 6:22 pm #

    Nice suit and pictures!! Those shoes remind me of these mens shoes. I really like them both.

    • BougieHippie July 16, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

      Thank, but are you sure? Those are oxfords wingtips and mine are loafer moccasins.

  4. TOAST&GRITS. July 17, 2013 at 9:47 am #

    You already know I feel about your style. One word…posh!

  5. Simply Chic August 4, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

    GASP!!!! i can’t believe you don’t like suits. you look stunning!!!

Leave a Reply

