Don’t Be Fat This Winter

15 Oct

David-Agbodji RunningThere is no excuse to be fat! I need new friends because my regular ones are too comfortable with being fat period. Everyone is canceling on me when it comes to exercising outdoors with the recent temperature drop.

At the beginning of every summer I usually cancel my gym membership to save money to workout outdoors. I enjoying outdoor fitness because sunlight is better for my skin and endorphin release, jogging on the road help better my posture and natural a.m. light resets circadian rhythms, so it’s easier for me to nod off at night. Not to mention I burn more calories under the hot sun and my workouts don’t get monotonous.

When I got up Monday morning for my morning run I was not prepared for the cold crisp air, I didn’t have the right clothes on, my lungs were on fire and my normal 7mins per mile went to 9mins per mile which was very discouraging. Due to the great results I’ve had this year with exercising outdoors I am trying to prolong renewing my gym membership until there is snow on the ground. To make my workout more efficient and effective and keep my friends from flaking I have devices a list of tips for exercising outside during fall/winter.

What I have learned and like about running in cold temps is it causes the heart to work harder – heart rate increases. This is good for the lungs, muscles, and nervous system. However, my body starts to use more energy to stay warm. I feel fast and energetic for the first 5-20 minutes, but then quickly feel depleted.

Dress: Don’t over dress; your body will heat up from your workout. Dress as if it is 20 degrees warmer to be warm without sweating so much you get a chill. To keep warmth in your shoes and slush out, switch out your mess shoes and wear socks that wick away wetness. Wear compression tights under you regular sweats, it will help with your recovery time and keep your muscles warm and blood pumping. Wind pants, windbreakers and long sleeved dry fit shirt are great with helping your body move through strong winds.

30 degrees: 2 tops, 1 bottom. Long-sleeve base layer and long tights (or shorts, for those who prefer the cold).
10 to 20 degrees: 2 tops, 2 bottoms. A jacket over your base layer, and wind pants over the tights.
0 to 10 degrees: go to the gym!

Weather vs. Body: Start your run into the wind to build strength and have the wind at your back on your way home to avoid getting chilled after you’ve been sweating. Take 10 to 15 minutes to warm up, I usually walk the 1st mile. Stretch before and after to keep your muscles loose and blood flowing. Get your miles in during the warmest time of day so you can absorb that needed sunshine. Do not worry about your speed/time as your body get use to the new elements your speed will comeback, besides your body operate better at cooler temperatures.

Breathing: That awful lung burning sensation after your first few cold runs goes away once your respiratory system adapt to dealing with frosty air. Rapidly breathing cold air dries your lungs. Breathe through your nose to moisten the air. Develop a breathing pattern by coordinating your inhales and exhales with your footfalls. This develops diaphragmatic strength (breathe though with your stomach not chest.) If you can’t breathe through your nose opt for a face mask or scarf around your mouth.

Start with a 2-2 pattern-breathe in while stepping left, right; breathe out while stepping left, right. Advance to 3-3 (breathe in, step left, right, left; breathe out, step right, left, right), and then a 4-4 pattern.

Do not push the pace during cold weather until you have run three consistent weeks in the environment. Do not forget to drink water while running and maintain, if not increase, your carbohydrate intake when training during the winter (you’ll never read me type that again).

5 Responses to “Don’t Be Fat This Winter”

  1. Manu October 16, 2013 at 5:11 am #

    This is very informative! What’s your running routine?

    Manu.

    • BougieHippie October 16, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

      I wake up at 7a.m. to be on the jogging trial at 7:30 my distance minimum is 3 miles my max is 10 depending on how much time I have, energy, hydration and battery life. I stretch before and after I also walk a mile before my run and .50 afterwards before going home. My average is 5-6 miles a day. 4-7x a week. I drink green tea before and after my run.

      Was this insightful?

      • Manu October 17, 2013 at 12:50 am #

        Oh yes! Thank you very much!

  2. kellygetthin October 16, 2013 at 6:21 am #

    Reblogged this on kellygetthin.

  3. Jones October 25, 2013 at 1:49 am #

    Proper diet and regular exercise make your body fit and fine. Proper exercise can be taken in the gym under proper guidance of experts and trainers and proper diet can be taken either from natural food or from supplementary products as they provide each and every possible nutrients which our body is in need of.

Leave a Reply

