Your Temple = Your Body

30 Oct

thinspiration (2)

Take care of your body and it will take care of you; it’s that simple. Yet, I still get over-eaters bombarding my inbox with strife they could have better exerted at a gym. I feel that I do a decent job of giving helpful lifestyle tips in an informative funny way however, I get flack for my constant use of the word ‘fat’.

My goal isn’t to shame anyone all I’m doing is giving out ‘thinspiration’ to those who want it. I operate under the guise: if you are as comfortable with yourself as you say you are then no one can make you feel guilty.

I absolutely loathe when people tell me they’re fat because they have “health issues.” No Porky, have you considered you have health issues because you’re fat?!

That’s why I don’t sugarcoat anything because they’ll just eat that too.

It’s all about taking care of your temple. Your body is your temple and it’s the only thing in this world that you own and only get one of. As my birthday rapidly approaches I realized this more and more everyday how important it is to keep that into perspective.

Taking care of yourself is more than working out and eating right, it’s organizing and making your life efficient. As well as, challenging yourself, not skipping great opportunities and doing things for the betterment and progression of your life.

The topic during bible study last night was “I’m totally healed” Psalms 103:1-4. The gist of it is to be thankful and take care of your gift- your temple.

Taking care of your temple is also taking care of your skin, mind, spiritual, emotional and financial. Basically being a functioning well rounded adult. If you want a better life you have to do better things.

As we get older we have to accept responsibility for our current state of life in order to learn more about ourselves and achieve the things we desire. If you’re single it’s your fault you’re not lovable, if you hate your thighs then run, you hate your job- quit. You can have a lofty degree, great career and fabulous clothing but if you’re not healthy enough or mentally stable to enjoy it then what is it all for?

Challenge yourself to do something that will help you enhance your temple.

  • Read more than watching television.
  • Eat out but skip the bread, soda and dessert.
  • Volunteer at least once a month.
  • Commit to working out 3x a week.
  • Learn a new talent, hobby or trade.
  • Start a savings toward something you want.
  • Take that guy up on his date offer.
  • Go to an event or partake in something you wouldn’t normally do.

The reward of taking care of your temple is enjoying your time here on earth for as long as possible. I personally challenge myself to not let my life go in vain of my parents’ struggle. People only get offended and bothered by certain things people say because it resonates within them.

Today isn’t the day to do it tomorrow.

6 Responses to “Your Temple = Your Body”

  1. Manu October 30, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    Totally agree. You really are an inspiration! Thanks!

  2. stylentonic October 31, 2013 at 4:50 am #

    body… perfect! 😉

  3. Concerned Citizen November 11, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

    “I absolutely loathe when people tell me they’re fat because they have ‘health issues.’ No Porky, have you considered you have health issues because you’re fat?!” YOU’RE kidding, right? I ran across your blog because of its contemptuous name. To no surprise, I’ve also come across many fallacies. Look up post hoc fallacies, because that’s what the statement I quoted is.

    People can have thyroid disease, have diseases that affect their metabolism, be on medications for certain diseases that cause weight gain, etc. Weight gain can cause health problems, yes. But there are health issues that make maintaining a healthy weight nearly impossible, or completely impossible. Therefore, it’s ignorant to assume that “porkies,” a name that’s completely empty of class, are overweight because of themselves alone.

    I’d consider rethinking the way you form your advice, because displaying ignorance towards others is no way to gain a following.

    • BougieHippie November 12, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by however, I take it as you didn’t read anything pass that line or any of my other posts. All of the examples that you gave while are understandable circumstances I still feel that with treatment and maintenance of your body when said health issues arise one can find a way to get fit. I know people with thyroids and when they got their hyperthyroidism treated they were able to get to their goal weight. As well as, side effects from meds still isn’t an excuse, just means you have to work harder for your goal. As to what this overall post illicit “take care of your temple.” I do get where you’re coming from because I know when I’m slighted or offended by something it because it usually hit home.

      You may not like my crass take on the subject but I feel I do a great job of giving USEFUL advice, tips and personal stories about fashion, fitness and lifestyle while entertaining. Again I understand your comment based on your perception without analyzing.

      Remember: Don’t be a hog share, re-tweet and continue to comment!

Leave a Reply

