An Ab-tastic Christmas.

17 Dec

anorexic-escapades-vogue-hommes-japan-summer-2013-issue-2

All I want for Christmas are a great set of abs! I’m not even aiming for a full fledged washboard stomach but something that looks like my 300 crunches a day regime isn’t going in vain. The one (of many) problem areas of my body is my abs no matter how much I run or endless calisthenics I do. I can’t seem to get the tight six-pack of my dreams. I may have a 30 ½ (as of last Friday) waistline but what’s the use if I still can’t go shirtless.

I know that the men in my family don’t have the best midriffs; usually I just cast off my gut frustrations as genetics and blame my family for my predisposition. However, I’ve worked too hard on dropping these stubborn pounds this year not to have a somewhat sculpted body.

As much as I work out I know diet plays an important part in developing a striated physique. Because I have everything already on my Christmas wish-list I’ve decided to give myself the only thing money can’t but this Christmas- a rock hard core. I’m challenging myself to stick to a diet and workout specifically to developing a visible abdominal area by New Year’s Eve.

First, I want people to know that there aren’t specific foods that make your abs look flatter, more cut and more prevalent. But there are foods that can give you a descendant stomach. As well as, not everyone can develop a six-pack although by fine tuning your carbohydrates, proteins and fats caloric intake will help dissolve that last layer of fat laying over your abdominals.

Secondly, by cutting out white sugar, white flour and dairy will help your abs form along with cutting out gassy food that make you feel bloated such as, soda, broccoli and high-fat meats (glad I’m a vegetarian.) Remember when the percentage of protein gets too high your body stores it as fat. Don’t think you can have all the protein you want and still get the abs you desire.

Thirdly, in sculpting the perfect midsection you can’t rely on diet only you must get up and do the work as well. 70% diet 20% fitness and 10% discipline; 25% of your calories come protein 25% of your calories come from fat and 50% of your calories come from carbohydrates.

Now here’s my diet for the next 2 weeks!

Fasting: 48 hours of a green tea, honey and lemon juice mixture to rid your body of excess sugar, caffeine and gassy foods. This helps your body rest better, gain more energy and boost your metabolism.

Breakfast Foods: Egg whites are cost effective, great source of protein and quick to cook keeping you out of the drive-thru. Egg whites contain B-12 that is good for breaking down fat. Peanut butter may be high in calories but on the plus side it increases the body’s production of testosterone that helps your muscles grown and melts fat. Because it’s a healthy fat I eat it for breakfast adding it in my unsweetened oatmeal (another good ab breakfast food) and use it at dinner in my Thai recipes.

Snack Foods: Almonds contain filling protein, fiber and vitamin E, a powerful antioxidant. They’re also a good source of magnesium, a mineral your body must have in order to produce energy, build and maintain muscle tissue, and regulate blood sugar. Soy and apples are another good source of fiber and will help you fight hunger as you body try and fight you from being lean.

Desserts: Blueberries, raspberries, bananas and strawberries are loaded with fiber, your new dieting best friends. The more fiber you eat less calories you absorb. Berries (and other fruits) are also high in antioxidants, which helps you get more results from your workouts.

Dinner Foods: Bean, leafy green and coconut oil are power foods pack with high nutrient content. They help fill you up without loading you up with calories. All low in fat, and packed with protein, fiber, and iron — nutrients crucial for building muscle and losing weight. Replace a meat with a bean dish; you’ll lose a lot of saturated fat out of your diet and replacing it with higher amounts of fiber. Cooking in coconut oil will help bump up your metabolism, boost you out of your energy slump and low in calories. We all know the number one goal to ab perfection is a low caloric intake.

Now I’m about to take my new grocery list and stock up on my meals for the next two weeks then come up with a new workout regime to pair with this diet.

I should have made my grocery list my Christmas list, as much as I want new abs I don’t want to be the one paying for them. I could be out buying new clothes.

4 Responses to “An Ab-tastic Christmas.”

  1. Tonia December 17, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    All i want for Christmas is the pleasure of enjoying Christmas. The diet can wait til January.

    • BougieHippie December 17, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

      Why put off something you can do today till tomorrow?

      • Tonia December 17, 2013 at 10:37 pm #

        why deprive yourself of what could be your best and last Christmas? I eat lettuce all year long and I am not eating lettuce for my holidays.

      • BougieHippie December 18, 2013 at 8:44 am #

        Hey girl I get it! But who so dark? My goal is bigger than a bunch of cake and pies my family eats more than enough for me. I’ll tell them to grill my lettuce. All I want are my gifts, carbs aren’t exchangeable.

Leave a Reply

