À la carte

21 Dec

Obviously I’m still obsessed with the full-length coat, this time it’s a trench. Cleaning out my slacks’ closet (yes, I have a closet designated just for slacks) I realized I own about 21 pairs of slacks that I haven’t worn in about five years. Not only are they huge and dated, I only faithfully wear about four that I got at a Calvin Klein markdown sale a year ago.

In the efforts to develop a more mature aesthetic I went pant shopping only to find that the prices of pants are outrageous, I pay less for my Levi’s. Well, the cheap resourceful thin savant I am I reorganized my slacks’ closet and selected eight pair of pants that I could just take to my seamstress to taper, slim and bring in the waist- of course.

$298 and a three inch waist size drop later I still feel raped (not in the fun “stop, no don’t stop” way). I literally can’t afford to get fat. I could have just bought new pants, I immediately went home to discard the rest of the pants still hanging. My neighbor sitting on the stoop was more than happy to take my disdain off my hands. However, I had to keep one pair for fat purposes. About 6 years ago these GAP slacks were extremely tight that I had to cut out the pockets and sew them up to keep them from budging and puckering. Cut to today: they are too big!

I decided to do an whole oversize look while having the chance to don my vintage trench coat, cozy sweater and the high-top leather chucks I got for my birthday.

Photography by Micheal Saisi
????????

????????

????????

????????

????????

????????

????????

Trench Coat: London Fog (Vintage)
Sweater: Perry Ellis $26.50
Shirt: Lands’ End $34
Pants: The Gap (had since 2007)
Shoes: Converse $75
Accessory: (watch Kenneth Cole)

6 Responses to “À la carte”

  1. Welovefur December 21, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    I really like this look. Elegance and comfort together
    xoxo
    http://www.welovwfur.com

  2. Theodolph Mason December 21, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    Obsessed with this post! Off the bat, the setting captivates me [it is gorgeous]. The architecture and the waterfront make a dynamic pairing with the wardrobe. The styling tastefully captures the vintage-comfort look in a tangible and luxurious way. Without question a look anyone can recreate and step out in style.
    The footwear and third body shot are absolutely something to rave about; notwithstanding all of the images present a story and evoke perfectly the information shared.

    – Cheers

  3. charlypriest December 22, 2013 at 5:55 am #

    Throw some pair of shoes my way….and please say that I´m the one who dresses you up, I know it´s a lie, but I might score some points with someone.

    • Theodolph L. Mason December 23, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

      You can score all by yourself. I promise.

  4. Toastandgrits December 22, 2013 at 9:19 am #

    those leather converse tho….gotta have them!
    -Ty
    http://www.toastandgrits.com

  5. tonnykidd December 25, 2013 at 7:41 am #

    lovely trenchcoat!!

Leave a Reply

