Resurrecting The Body of My Dreams

5 Mar

LENT (1)

Lent (Wednesday, March 5 and ends on Thursday, April 17) has begun and I am a day late (there’s goes my procrastination penitence,) I’ve had a difficult time trying to decide what will I be sacrificing for the next 40 days in observation. Every year since attending university I have participated in the annual solemn religious observance. More so to give myself a proper restart to a new year beyond the traditional take of New Year’s resolutions on the first day of the year.

Some believe that New Year’s resolutions are designed to fail and by the once packed now empty cardio room at my gym I slightly agree. But inevitably resolutions are about sacrifice, discipline and effort i.e. Lent.

The purpose of Lent is to mirror the 40 days Jesus Christ spent fasting in the desert, where he endured temptation by Satan. Which is done by preparation of one’s self through prayer, penance, repentance of sins, almsgiving, atonement and self-denial.

And here lies my fat a** problem, I have nothing to sacrifice, however I have a huge problem with temptation. This started a snowball effect of thoughts I know many of us deal with. We want so much from life and have such a strong feeling that we are destine and deserve certain successes yet we aren’t willing to completely sacrifice to earn such rewards. Not to imply that anyone is lazy nor aren’t doing his/her best to propel one’s aspiration in life but, I am stating we are only willing to give up the things we are “ok” with living without hoping it will be enough.

We all go through the “am I doing all that I can do” self degrading period. Sometimes this doubt leads into a funk, depression, weight gain and/or giving up on one’s dreams entirely.

I realized that through sacrifice comes motivation and the presence of motivation goals are set and achieved. This is where I asked myself “what is it that I want” and of course it is to have 5% body fat.

I mean I got down to my goal weight and have maintained it for over two months now it’s time to sculpt it. With spring less than 15 days away I need to whip this winter body into shape. Not just any shape but my dream body.

Being that Lent is correlated to Easter and Easter is all about the resurrection which, means you can’t celebrate the resurrection without the sacrifice. I am trying to resurrect these abs and pecks!

This not only speak volumes to my life but I’m sure many can see the relativity in theirs as well. As superficial as my angst may be if there is something you want to achieve you need NOT to give into the temptation of shortcuts, quitting or slowing down from what’s at stake. Howbeit, love, financial, economically, faith or physical we all should be staying true to ourselves to live out our dreams.

I get motivation from different places and one of my most effective motivational tactics is my weekly fast. It test my dedication and patience to allow me to home in on what I truly want then devise a plan to acquire it. Lent is the ultimate fast, I do a lot of diet, exercise and weight-loss advice and I just want to be in the best shape to continue to give such. Also, there are other areas of my life that are hazy and clouded that I think this 40 day fast will help clear up to allow me to enter a new successful chapter in my life.

I challenge you to construct a list of 1 to 3 things to sacrifice over the next month that you feel will help you clear a better path to your goal.

“The foolish man seeks happiness in the distance. The wise grows it under his feet.” -James Oppenheim

Leave a Reply

