“Junk Food Journals”: Entry 2

24 Mar

The date on the calendar indicating spring isn’t convincing enough to put the snacks down and pick up the dumbbells? Well, get a load of these fellas who’ve been focused throughout weight gaining season formally know as winter.

Another installment of “Junk Food Journals” of my personal real life thinspirations. These firm bodied guys are the perfect motivation to transform your stout body by the next solstice transition. If the pictures aren’t enough just read their workout regimes, diet plans and aides in staying discipline to look great. It’s not as easy as one would think and we all have our weaknesses, take a look at these honest and helpful stories below.

Jonathan Coleman: Instagram: @omgjonathancoleman Facebook: jonathancolema
Jonathan Coleman (1)
Jonathan Coleman (2)
Jonathan Coleman (3)
Howdy! My name is Jonathan I’m 24 years old, I am from New York City. I started working out a year ago. Working out for me is a way to escape, more so building mental and physical endurance.

Workout Philosophy: No Pain, No Gain.
Breakfast: High protein high fiber cereal; Kashi Golean (30 g of carbs, 13 g of protein, and 10g of fiber) and orange juice.
Lunch: Beef salad tweaked to meet my muscle-building goals.
Dinner: Salmon with lemon-mint dressing.
Cheat Day: Pizza.
Diet Trick: I take photos of myself wearing nothing but underwear. Anytime I fall off the wagon I look at those pics. That’s all the motivation I need!
Problem Area: Abs.
Key Discipline: Accountability partner, always keeps me on point!
Workout Routine: A proper fitness program has five components: A warm up, an aerobic workout, strength-building exercises, stretching (flexibility), and a cool down. I try to work out different parts of my body six days out of the week. Monday: abdominal, Tuesday: legs, Wednesday: chest, Thursday: arms, Friday: abdominal, Saturday: legs and most of my Sundays are spent in church.

Kenneth Kerr: Twitter: @myster_yeah Instagram: @myster_yeah Personal Training: kerr6721@gmail.com
Kenneth Kerr (1)
Kenneth Kerr (2)
Kenneth Kerr (3)
My name is Kenneth. I’m a 24 year old model and personal trainer. I live in the Bahamas where I was born and raised.

Workout philosophy: Consistency, discipline and dedication to your diet and workouts bring results.
Breakfast: Egg whites, oatmeal, bacon, fruits, toast and soy milk. Then 2 hours later I eat a smaller meal.
Lunch: Whole grain rice/pasta, chicken breast, fish, sweet potato and green veggies. Post Workout Shake: whey protein.
Dinner: Chicken breast, brown rice, spinach and boiled eggs.
Cheat Day: COOKIES! and (I can’t believe Im admitting this) fried chicken from KFC.
Diet Trick: Consume meals every 2-3 hours to regulate caloric intake. No heavy foods after 7p.m. and a lighter slower reacting protein 30 minutes before bed.
Problem Area: MY LEGS. In addition to being tall I’m also lean, my legs don’t produce results like the other parts of my body. I have to work them twice as much.
Key to Discipline: Set small goals each week and improve gradually. Keep a workout journal and most importantly train your mind to NEVER accept defeat because this is more mental than it is physical.
Workout Routine: Monday: legs, Tuesday: abs & arms, Wednesday: shoulders & traps, Thursday: cardio, Friday: chest, Saturday: back, Sunday: rest.

Joshua Grice: Twitter: @ihateujodiee Instagram: @ihateujodie Facebook: gricejoshua
Joshua Grice (1)
Joshua Grice (2)
Joshua Grice (1)
Hi, I’m Joshua Grice, 27 from Marion County, S.C. relocated in the DMV. I’m an inspired personal trainer. If you would have asked me years ago where I see myself in 5 years. I definitely wouldn’t have said being a personal trainer. Maybe somewhere baking cupcakes or something. Even though baking isnt my strength I just enjoy baking and eating them. Cupcakes and brownies are my kryptonite. I started working out for about 2 to 3 years ago. My second oldest brother is the one who inspired me to get in the gym and stay fit. Being that he was in the military he taught me everything I needed to know at an early age about discipline.

Workout Philosophy: For me, fitness is more than looking good. It’s feeling good on both the inside and outside. Be active. Be fit. Be epic!
Breakfast: I like to have 3-5 boiled eggs and turkey bacon. Peanut butter sandwich and banana or fruit and nuts and a glass of orange juice.
Lunch: Vegetables and fruits or a salad and lemon water and/or nuts.
Dinner: Replacement meal shake or some vegetables and protein (fish or chicken.) I just started adding spinach to my diet. Turkey Burger or grilled chicken sandwich or salad or pasta ( chicken and/or shrimp) w/ broccoli and LOTS OF WATER! Also, I’ve started adding lemon to my water.
Cheat Day: Hmph, I cheat far too often. Sweets like, cupcakes, brownies, M&M’s, pizza and sodas are constantly on my mind. I recently just cut out sodas but no telling how long that’s going to last, lol. Plus, I’m trying to cut back on drinking coffee.
Diet Trick: Of course, it’s not that simple. The only thing simple about weight loss is the math (calories taken in -/+ calories burned = weight gain, weight loss, or weight maintenance). But in my case, I’m just trying to stay tone but add muscle. Its all about adding extra protein, working out and drinking water. Water is very important!
Problem area: My legs are my problem area for me. I’m lucky to have the fast metabolism that I have. Although, its a gift and a curse. My upper body is fine and tone but my lower body, not so much. I’ve tried several routines. Its a process.
Key to Discipline: The bottom line to staying fit is having the ability to stay disciplined to a diet and exercise plan. You have to want it. Plus you must have a great support system of people that wants to see you do great and succeed.
Workout Routine: Mondays: leg day, Tuesdays: biceps and back, Wednesdays: shoulders, Thursday: triceps, Friday: chest, Weekend: are my rest days. Also, I do abs, push ups (40-20) and squats (50-30) everyday while warming up. I do cardio once or twice a week. Plus, I run about a mile or two.

Leave a Reply

