Vegetarian Frito Chili Pie

28 Mar

vegetarian frito chili pie

Back when I was going through a fat spell, you know before Lent when I gave up chips I made more than enough of my amazing Roasted Vegetarian Chili . The genius foodie my mom is suggested I use some of it to make a Frito pie. This is like the perfect guilt free cheat day meal. As well as, one of those awesome things that remind me of home when my mom would make the meat version for my brother and I or when my friends and I would get a pipping hot bag off the ice cream truck (those obese Texas summers.)

Yeah, it’s more than your suggested intake of cheese and greasy corn chips but I’m sure you’ll be in the gym bright and early.

DIRECTIONS:
1. Make the Chili: Follow directions from “Roasted Vegetarian Chili” .

2. Make the topping: Saute the celery, white onion, and green bell pepper in olive oil with a pinch of salt, pepper and red pepper flakes. Set aside till pie is done baking.

3. Assemble the Frito Pie: Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Plate Fritos in a baking dish, transfer some or all of the chili, layering the chili onto the corn chips. Add shredded pepper jack cheese over the top and bake until the cheese is melted and the chili is bubbling, about 30 minutes. Sprinkle with sliced green onions and sauteed topping- serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

