Staying FIT.

15 Apr

Staying Fit

“Take care of your body. It’s the only place you have to live.” -Jim Rohn

If you can remember to brush your teeth every day, make your barber or nail appointment there’s no reason for you to skip the gym or give up eating the right things to speed up your metabolism and shrink your waist.

As we settle more into spring it only means summer is getting closers and for those who have just started a new diet/workout regime or reaching a plateau on a current one you’re not alone. I enjoy being able to shop from the front of the rack like the next man. I mean, there’s a certain kind of joy I savor when my ‘fat’ clothes become sleepwear.

However, I too “Skinny-Savant” hate getting there. I hate doing abs until I’m actually doing them; I pretend my 7 a.m. alarm is a part of my dream’s soundtrack to prolong me having to get up to exercise as well as, it’s getting harder and harder to not clean out the fridge with my tongue during my late night craving rampages.

What I do like is being naked during the summer; if you’re having trouble staying committed to your current workout plan and/or finding that needed discipline to eat properly then, here you go.

This is how I keep to my goal of forever skinny.

  1. Explore your devices by getting the most out of your phone other than snapping and posting pics for Instagram. Though pre/post gym selfies can be good motivators to return to the gym tomorrow your phone is more capable than you think. Along with setting daily alarms to workout according to my regular schedule of work, events and errands I have a few apps that keep me on the skinny track. Apps like, Nike +, RunKeeper, Map My Ride, DietPoint and My Diet Dairy Calorie Counter all are great for creating meal plans, food journals and fitness goals. Some apps even let you add friends to compare progress with. Also, you can use your phone’s calculator to count calories, download Google Keep or any Post-It app to make note of your progress or list your must do daily exercises.
  2. A motivation morgue is a must have for constant thinspiration. Whenever someone retweet, share or post a nude, shred or crunch induce thirst trap photo into any of my timelines I screenshot and store it under a folder that I turn to that gives me an excuse not to make up an excuse to skip the gym. I use Pinterest and Tumblr to store low fat recipes, body part specific exercise routines, scantily clad fit models, and fitness sayings/memes that are catalyst I use to stay the course of my summer body. Even a screen saver on my tablet or phone of someone I aim to be like is a great visual motivational tactic. Almost every day I find myself scrolling through endless cataloged images that thinspire me to get dressed and head to the gym.
  3. It’s ok to be selfish with your time and choices. I’ve stated before that sometimes I pick working out over hanging with friends. It may seem like I’m isolating myself to be in shape but when summer comes the island I’ve create will be well worth it when I’m laying sun kissed and barely clothed on an island. Just as you have to make time to do other things make time in your day for a 30- 60 min workout. Not only will it give you more energy to finish the day it’s a great way to decompress from the hectic day. By scheduling in your workouts it’s more likely to become a routine and not a chore. Even make a “to-do list,” if you’re like me you’ll see your list as a challenge and more aroused to get it done. Additionally, create your own space in your home where you can workout. You don’t need a whole room or state-of-the-art equipment. All you need is a mat, fitness ball, a couple of dumbbells, a mirror and resistance band and music to have a designated area for you to do your calisthenics. By having this space eliminates your excuse of gym membership prices or actually have to go to the gym as reasons to not burn fat. Besides, who doesn’t love having their own territory?
  4. If space is limited or cabin fever settles in sign up for classes, events and fitness clubs that will get you out the house. Having a specific unique place to go daily is a brilliant way to regulate your eating/fitness patterns. Albeit, a spin class, yoga, cross-fit camp or marathon or cooking class. These different places will not only give your fitness path variety but spark competition and what better way to kill calories than killing someone else’s self-esteem in the process. Competition is an ace booster to keep you propelling towards a stealthy summer. Join or create biggest loser competition at your gym or workplace. Having something to do will surely keep your mind off food. Plus, the constant weigh-ins is a perfect way to create accountability.
  5. Rewarding yourself with food is for dogs and dolphins on show at SeaWorld. The goal here is to look less like a whale as possible. Instead of that cheat day that you definitely don’t deserve and will excite you to indulge more often enviably running your diet, how about going to the mall instead. Celebrate a new weight goal by buying new workout gear. Over ruining your belly progress with that “reward” burger, treat yourself to some new jeans or bathing suit. Use the money you’ve saved by skipping the fast food line up for something else that will thinispire you to curbing your appetite. New purchases or the expectation of something new always help me pinpoint my motivation.

When all else isn’t enough to keep me focus I keep in mind how good I’m going to look by not giving into temptation. Discipline is a hard thing to develop but that instantly gratification I’d get by eating that fatty food or laying around all day will take at least two weeks to work off.

3 Responses to “Staying FIT.”

  1. Manu April 16, 2014 at 1:22 am #

    I’m usually motivated enough to go to the gym, being fit or eat properly but, as everyone, I experience ups and downs too. YOU are always a great inspiration. Thanks!

    • BougieHippie April 16, 2014 at 1:32 am #

      I totally understand where you coming from. It can be tough staying committed even when you love something.

      Thanks!

  2. หนังสือการ์ตูน April 30, 2014 at 6:46 am #

    It is really a nice and helpful piece of info. I am happy that you shared
    this useful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this.

    Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

