“Junk Food Journals”: Entry 5

6 May

Is your motivation to workout and discipline to eat right wearing thin unlike your waist? Well, summer is less than 20 days away so get it together. If these personal thinpsirations don’t get you back in the gym then good luck with your struggle. The men of “Junk Food Journals” have been my waist saviors in reaching my summer body goal. Check out the nutrition tips, workout routines, personal stories and of course the amazingly svelte bodies.

Fitness is all about having the right tools to reach and maintain your goals. I find many people fail at attaining their ideal size because they are afraid to ask questions. Here are 3 guys who had meek beginnings and are sharing their gym triumphs, no need for questions when someone is giving you the answers free.

Nathaniel Stephenson (1)
Nathaniel Stephenson (2)

My name is Nathaniel Stephenson (IG:@Nathanielnoir); I am a fitness YouTuber, fashion blogger and designer from Toronto. I was a very slim and slender guy that seemed to have trouble putting on weight. Growing tired of being “skinny” I started a nutrition plan about 4 years ago and committed to working out. I began to eat more and a lot healthier, as the months went on I started seeing significant results. Now I’m happier than ever with my physique, I feel good and look great in all my clothing. With patience and persistence anything is possible!

Workout Philosophy: “Eat clean and train dirty,” not only is it important to look great in or out of your clothing but to feel great in them as well.

Breakfast: 4 boiled eggs (yolk removed), two slices of whole grain bread with flax seeds, 1 cup of natural grapefruit juice and a bowl of mixed fruits.

Lunch: Oven roasted chicken very light seasoning, 2 sweet potatoes, 1 cup of fresh broccoli, 3 pieces of asparagus and 24 oz of water.

Dinner: Oven baked salmon, 1 cup of mixed vegetables, 1 cup of brown rice and 24 oz of water.

Cheat Day: I love, love, love chicken wings and wedges; with honey garlic and hot sauce on the side!!!

Diet Trick: I always try to imagine my summer body and think of how much better I’ll feel once I’ve reached an accomplished it. So then I won’t over indulge or if I do those are the things I tell myself, seems to help me jump back into the groove (if that makes sense). Also, 5 days a week healthy foods and lots of protein meats, 2 days a week mixture of high carbs a few fatty foods, love water have to have it with 90 percent of meals and I always have omega fish oil pills to help with muscle replenishment .
Problem Area: Shoulders

Key to Discipline: Following some of the best fitness trainers helps keep me inspired and motivates me to train for a better workout each and every session. Never expect results without hard work.

Workout Regimen: Monday: calves and lower back, Tuesday: arms, Wednesday: rest day, Thursday: glutes and hamstring isolation and Friday: core and arms, Saturday: rest day, then Sunday: chest and shoulders.
Zonz Junior (1)
Zonz Junior (2)
Zonz Junior (3)

Hi! My name is Zonz Junior(IG: @Diskozee). I am 25 years old, and I work as a Dean of Students at an elementary school in Brooklyn, New York. My life philosophy is to work hard and play harder. On my spare time I love traveling, working out, cooking and enjoy eating delicious food. I like to be healthy therefore I follow a rigorous workout schedule to keep me tight and in shape. The first thing I do when I hit the gym is run on the treadmill for 20-30 minutes depending on my mood.

Workout Philosophy: “Staying healthy is not a luxury, working out and eating healthy is a necessity”
Breakfast: 2 yogurt (with Probiotic).
Lunch: Meat, vegetables, grains.
Dinner: Meat, vegetables, grains.
Cheat Day: Brownie with vanilla ice-cream or pie with vanilla ice-cream.
Diet Trick: Drink lots of water, no soda.
Problem Area: Thighs.
Key to Discipline: Focus & determination.
Workout Routine: Monday: chest, Tuesday: back & biceps, Wednesday: shoulders, Thursday: legs and Saturday: chest and Friday & Sunday: rest.

Makeel Valentine (1)
Makeel Valentine (2)
Makeel Valentine (3)

Hi, my name is Makeel Valentine (IG: @imakeelyou), a student at North Carolina A&T, majoring in Sports Science. I am 21 years old and I love fitness. Although I haven’t been doing it for too long, I feel I have made much progress and have reach a lot of my goals. Can’t wait to learn more and increase my fitness level to the max.

Workout Philosophy: Find something that will motivate you to come to the gym or workout, once you find it, be determined to reach that goal and you will.

Before anything, I’d like to say that when it comes to nutrition I am not the best at it, I still am working on what I need to eat, and watch what I eat. But in all I feel I eat pretty well.

Breakfast: I hate breakfast, all types of breakfast foods to me are nasty, but I know it must be eaten. So I eat egg whites, pancakes, bananas, yogurt, and sometimes will make a smoothie for myself.

Lunch: For me, lunch is a very important meal. Since I usually workout in the morning up until lunch I must eat lunch. I eat chicken, brown rice, and broccoli.

Dinner: For dinner I usually eat some type of pasta, chicken, fish, and some type of vegetable.

Cheat Day: I feel a cheat day is good for everyone working out. It’s almost like a reward for your hard work. I have a cheat day once a week.

Problem Area: My biggest problem is gaining weight, and strength. Since I do not workout with anybody I’m only relying on myself to lift weights and I am terrified of the weights falling on my. As far as gaining weight, I honestly don’t know how to. But I’m not complaining I will eventually get there.

Key to Discipline: The key to discipline to working out is motivation and determination. When I first started working out my motivation was getting abs and a great body. I was determined to get it. Now that I’m older and more mature in my fitness journey, my motivation is getting more fit and increasing my fitness level.

Workout Routine:
Workout 1
5 double sets (10sets total):
5 Cleans/ 5 Thrusters/ 5 Front squats.
10 kettle bell swings
50 meter run
10 Burpees
10 sit ups
50 meter run
Repeat with no break until you’ve done two in a row and on second one replace kettle bell swings with 20 jump ropes

Workout 2: Circuits
Around 160 meter track, 4 stations every 40 meters
1st station: 4 hurdle jumps 4 times
2nd station: 50 jump ropes
3rd station: in and out agility ladder 4 times
4th station: 10 Burpees
Two in a row then break, do 8 times.

2 Responses to ““Junk Food Journals”: Entry 5”

  1. purpledivaa May 14, 2014 at 3:12 am #

    Hello BougieHippie, I really love this post especially the meal plans. I used to be very active so I didn’t bother about working out (I hate exercise), but now I’m less active and I’ve gained a couple of pounds. With these examples I will plan my meals and maybe try out a couple of workouts… A little exercise never hurt right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

