Vegetarian Tostadas

12 Jul

Refried Black Bean & Veggie Tostadas

This recipe is for my followers that frequently ask me what do I eat other than salads and low carb Monster energy drink as a vegetarian. As I see more people jumping on this 28 day vegan/vegetarian diet bandwagon I’m getting bombarded with questions on what to eat. Being a vegetarian isn’t about giving up your taste buds but more so your gut. Others may tell you different things such as environmental/humane reasons.

I love to cook and being a vegetarian for over 8 years it has made my waist smaller and my pockets fatter. Not only do I eat out less, I cook more which in return I save money that way. Another bonus; I get to cut out processed foods along with meat.

Albeit, if you’re under the impression giving up the dead animals means the same for some of your favorite dishes then here’s a perfect recipe to dispel all that. Everyone loves Mexican food! One of my favorite dishes growing was tostada night, mom would let my brother and I chop up the veggies and build our own. So last night while I was entertaining I thought why not have an interactive dinner. Voilà Refried Black Beans & Veggie Tostadas!

Follow these directions and don’t crap it up!

Refried Black Beans: Melt 3 tablespoons of coconut oil in a small saucepan, add the minced garlic, onions and cumin. When continents starts to brown drain canned beans and add to saucepan. Sprinkle with sea salt and cracked black pepper. Leave to a simmer until the beans are tender and the liquid has turned into a thick sauce. Mash the beans leaving some texture and cook over a medium heat, 3 or 4 minutes.

Veggie Mix: Chop up squash, zucchini, cherry tomatoes, celery, bell pepper and white onion adding it to a pan of 1 tablespoon of olive oil and one tablespoon of white vinegar. Cook till tender then add cilantro, cracked black pepper and seasoning salt. Let it simmer and cook down till all the juices are evaporated.

Meatless Crumbles: Open bag in a frying pan, add chopped red pepper, garlic and seasoning salt or fajita salt. Stir-fry for 4 mins.

Bake or fry tortillas, then construct your tostada as desired by adding garden mix lettuce, grated marble cheese, guacamole and salsa.

You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

