Taste Coach: Chris McKinley

22 Jul

You can run off fat but now matter how ostentatious or expensive your wardrobe may be, you can’t dress up ugly. To those who think so, next time notice how people compliment your clothing not you. The only way around this is developing and maintaining healthy, vibrant, even and clear skin.

We all have our share of epidermis horror tales. That was one of the reasons for me creating this site to share my stories of triumph over facials crater domination. Just in case my advice isn’t enough I’ve enlisted others to help convey the message of how important grooming/skincare is to living a healthy life for every man.

Christopher McKinley is another thinspiration I’ve interviewed for the series “Taste Coach.” Chris is a makeup artist that not only specialize in makeup but skincare too. What makes him interesting is that when I stumbled upon his work at Styleseat.com/PleasurePaint, he offer those same services to men. Believe it or not the male skincare & makeup trend—a.k.a, corrective skincare—is rising in the U.S.

Cosmetics companies are releasing cosmetic products especially tailored for men, and men are increasingly using such products. Debenhams reported, “this year men spent 24% more on grooming products than in the same period last year, and the male UK skincare market is worth an estimated £600m.” According to an article written by Rhiannon Lucy Cosslett for The Guardian.

Howbeit all natural, clinically or looking for an instant cover-up Chris share a lot of his personal secrets and recommendation on how to achieve his flawless skin. I become a super fan when I find people who physically represent what they are selling exponentially well! It’s like a walking billboard, who needs an infomercial.

Chris McKinley
I’m Chris McKinley, originally from Savannah, Ga. I now live in Atlanta, where I work as makeup artist under the business name “Pleasure Paint by Chris McKinley.” I’ve always been attracted to beautiful things, art, decoration, restorations, and other opportunities to creatively enhance beauty. When I got the call about a lead at MAC cosmetics, I jumped to it, and the rest is history. Email booking is IamChrisMcKinley@yahoo.com

What services does PleasurePaint offer for men?
CM- PleasurePaint offers what I like to call ‘Manscaping.’ Manscaping is a makeup service that caters to male grooming. I have different techniques for both men with facial hair and men without. I cater to everyone from the guy who wears makeup every day, to the guy that just wants to look his best on film, and everything in between.

Being a Makeup Artist and some of your clients being male, is it okay for men to wear makeup?
CK- Men should definitely feel comfortable wearing makeup. We as a society are moving beyond gender stereotypes.

How can men pull of wearing makeup without looking feminine or “made up”?
CM- Study techniques. When all else fails, book a professional. Make up is an art, and there are plenty of artists, like myself who specialize in male grooming.
Pleasure Paint
Are there some basic make up product for men to have and why?
CM- Tinted moisturizer provides light coverage while still producing an even skin tone.

Common things men forget about their skin.
CM- That skincare is not gender specific. It is just as important for men to properly care for their skin as it is women.

What is good skin?
CM- Good skin is healthy, hydrated, and balanced skin.

What contribute to bad skin?
CM- An unhealthy, inactive lifestyle. Eat right, exercise, drink plenty of water.
Chris McKinley
Any misconceptions about clear skin?
CM- All clear skin isn’t healthy. Your skin can be clear and still have several causes for concern. Focus first on healthy skin, and clear skin will come.

What’s your daily facial regime?
CM- I wash my face 2-3 times a day. I apply a moisturizing agent, and sunscreen.

What do you love about your skin?
CM- I love that my skin has a healthy glow, and that my skin is soft to the touch.

What do you hate about your skin?
CM- I hate that my skin is extremely sensitive to sun light.

Lest favorite thing about grooming?
CM- If I’ve touched products for any other part of my body, I absolutely have to wash my hands again before touching my face. It can become annoying when pressed for time lol.

What part of groom will you NOT skip?
CM- I will NEVER skip sunscreen.

Something you’ve learned from someone else about great skin?
CM- Natural products such as honey, oatmeal, and brown sugar make awesome skin care confections.

Would you say obtaining even clear skin is easy?
CM- It varies. We are all made differently.

I’m sure you have some must-have skincare product; share!
CM- Olive oil, I usually mix it with my moisturizer.

To people seeking better skin what’s your best skin advice?
CM- Moisturize immediately after showering, each and every time. Your body absorbs product better at that stage.

How often should you get a facial or exfoliate?
CM- You can exfoliate every 3-4 days if needed. I would suggest the same time frame with facials. Use natural products.

How to get rid of blemishes?
CM- I always initially support the natural route. Honey and brown sugar can make a great exfoliant which often relieves signs of blemishes. If that natural route isn’t cutting it there are several over the counter brands that I would suggest. Both Ambi products which is a Johnson & Johnson company and Palmer’s products have been known to have noticeable results.
Chris McKinley
Worst acne/pimple story?
CK- If I get a pimple it will always come when I least want it. One year for my birthday my body decided to give me a nice zit right on the middle of nose. Needless to say I didn’t take too many pictures that night.

Best product to treat acne?
CM- I have been really lucky to have not battled acne *fingers crossed* but if I did, I would go with ProActive. I’ve seen it work.

How to get rid of razor bumps?
CM- I suggest using an over the counter lotion or spray containing benzoyl peroxide, which works to reduce the bumps in size, and prevents future bumps.

Any shaving technique secrets?
CM- Always shave in the direction that your hair grows. Avoid a really close shave if your skin is prone to razor bumps. Avoid razor shaves period, and always moisturize your skin afterwards.

Difference between a breakout, acne and razor bumps?
CM- Break outs can result from many factors such as heat or allergic reactions. Acne is the result of clogging or plugging of your pores. Razor bumps are formed when curly hair bends at the outer layer of skin rather than sprouting out. 

Can they be treated the same?
CM- Each should be treated separately, as they are very different.

How should one figure their skin type?
CM- Skin type is pretty self-evident. If you notice where your skin is extremely oily, without moisturizer or any added products, you most likely have oily skin. The opposite applies for dry skin; skin that regularly becomes dry, even after adding moisturizers and products is usually a result of dry skin. Combination skin is right there in the middle; not too oily, not too dry.

Before we wrap up, what top 3 skin care tips you give to men?
CM- Wash your face thoroughly several times a day. If shaving, always shave in the direction that your hair grows, and moisturize immediately after.

3 Responses to “Taste Coach: Chris McKinley”

  1. Kevyn Germaine July 23, 2014 at 3:57 pm #

    Professionalism at it’s best! How informative; will most definitely be applying these tips to my daily regimen.

    Chris McKinley is at the TOP of his game!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Smooth as Chocolate. | Anorexic Escapades - November 18, 2014

    […] I didn’t see how it would cure the problem rather than cover it up. However, makeup artist Chris McKinley express in his feature of “Taste Coach” this is a new trend with men and […]

Leave a Reply

