Vegetarian Salisbury Steak

22 Aug

Salisbury Steak-less

I’m convinced that this boy is the reason for my weight gain that’s why he’s on the next flight to New York city in a week!I asked him last night what is he going to do when he leave because he’s been eating like a vegetarian king.

If we’re not going out to dinner I’m here preparing quite frankly, edible masterpieces. Granted I have convinced him to go on juice fasts, jogging, yoga classes and workouts with me but that hasn’t stop the lbs for coming back while he’s been getting leaner.

Neither does this dish I made for dinner aid my plight. Because of this I’ve kind of been on a cooking strike and since time is winding down before his departure I know I need to get back to cooking. To keep from cooking the same thing twice or resorting to eating calorie, fat and sugar loaded restaurant food I made an old favorite.

This is a staple in every school cafeteria across America- Salisbury steak. Per usual I put my spin on it by replacing the ground beef with meatless patties, fresh green beans and bowtie macaroni. This was my first time cooking this so my sauce wasn’t as red as I remember it but it tasted amazing!

Here’s what I did.

  1. In a large bowl, mix together 1/3 cup condensed French onion soup with, bread crumbs, egg, salt and black pepper.
  2. Dip four Morningstar patties into mix.
  3. In a large skillet over medium-high heat, brown both sides of patties. Pour off excess olive oil.
  4. In a small bowl, blend flour and remaining soup until smooth. Mix in ketchup, water, Worcestershire sauce and mustard powder. Pour over patties in skillet. Cover, and cook for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Bon Appétit

Leave a Reply

