“Junk Food Journals:” Entry 10

24 Sep

Woah, I can’t believe this is entry number 10 for the “Junk Food Journals.” When I started this series it was to ask fit guys workout questions that I was afraid to ask in gym because I was too busy salivating over their ripe muscles. Now thanks to the ability to hide behind the web I can hid my inner creep while speaking to my thinpsirations.

In this entry I have come to the happy and mildly relief realization that “it,” whatever it is just gets better with age. In two years I’ll be 30 and at 28 I’m in better shape than I was at 18 therefore, if I keep this up like the men featured I can be well persevered grade A beef like them! Its never too late to start your fitness journey or lead a healthy life style. I mean, just look at these men; I know guys younger than them that could pass as these crisp bodied men older siblings.

Like with anything worth having in life you must take precious care of it. So if you are what you eat then these guys eat a bowl of amazing each day. Check them out, follow them on Instagram, gawk at their physiques, screenshot their tips and go to the gym TODAY!

Thanks fellas for participating!

Shane Huggins

Shane Huggins

Shane Huggins

My name is Shane Huggins (IG:@chicohuggins) but everyone knows me as Chico and I was born in Barbados. I did however, grow up in St. Vincent. In a nutshell, I went to University in the US on a tennis scholarship and moved to London in my final semester to complete my internship at a small law firm. I stayed there for just under a year during which I became a signed model with W Athletic and Fit4Fashion.

Workout Philosophy: “No Pain; No Gain.”

Breakfast: Fiber based cereal, fruit and green tea.

Lunch: Pasta salad, stir fry vegetables and fish with water.

Dinner: Fish, greens and water.

Cheat Day: I usually don’t have one but if I do it may be popcorn or cheesecake on my birthday 🙂

Diet Trick: Honestly, I just try to eat everything in moderation but keeping into consideration I’m an athlete requiring loads of energy.

Problem Area: Legs. Just hope to get them a bit bigger and more toned.

Key To Discipline: Part of my happiness comes from feeling good and I want to feel and look my best despite my age.

Workout Routine: Early mornings consist of high intensity explosive workout such as, Insanity, Focus T25, TapOut XT, etc. Afternoons are often tennis, cardio, and weight lifting in the gym. These will be 5 to 6 days per week.

Seneca Sean (1)

Seneca Sean (2)

Seneca Sean (3)
My name is Seneca Sean (IG: @applejuce) I’m 37, a professional male living in NYC originally from South Florida. I started working out really just to look better naked. Really that’s it. The health benefits are a nice bonus though 🙂

Breakfast: I don’t stick to a specific breakfast. I eat whatever comes to mind. Could be a yogurt and trail mix bar. Could be a couple of boiled eggs and a bagel with cream cheese. Could be a McDonald’s Sausage Biscuit with Egg (shhh).

Lunch: Anything but generally nothing unhealthy. Today I’m having a veggie pasta salad (pasta made from veggies) with sliced chicken breast, cucumber, tomato, black olives and Italian dressing. I made it myself.

Dinner: Same rule as lunch. I hardly ever eat anything fried. Mostly baked chicken or fish dishes. Also seafood.

Cheat Day: Since I don’t believe in diets per se, I don’t believe in cheat days. I believe that almost anything is OK in moderation. A general lifestyle of eating healthy is better than any crash diet.

Problem Area: I have a weakness for baked goods so I allow myself a treat almost daily. I don’t deny myself. I just keep it in check.

Key To Discipline: Moderation!

Workout Routine: I try to make it to the gym 4-5 days a week. I usually do combination workouts. I don’t like isolated
workouts (i.e. leg day, arm day, etc.)
reginald mitchel (1)

reginald mitchel (2)

reginald mitchel (3)
I’m Reggie Mitchell (IG:@mistamitchell) 35 year old male, originally from Tampa, Florida but currently living in Washington, DC area. Taking every day to continue learning how to better myself both mentally and physically.

Workout Philosophy: Be the best I can be. Learn my own body and do what works best for me. I try to keep in mind that we are all different.

Breakfast: Low Calorie protein shake, oatmeal and fruit

Lunch: Usually baked chicken or fish with green vegetables and/or sweet potato

Dinner: Usually the same as lunch but in a smaller portion.

Cheat Day: I typically like to have my cheat day on Wednesday’s, after a good workout. I have a weakness for Chinese. So I figure the best time to eat is while my adrenaline is still up and burning calories.

Diet Trick: No actual tricks. If anyone knows of any, please let me know ASAP J. I loves to eat, so to balance things out I tend to stay away from sodas and juices and drink water all day long. I figure cutting back on the extra sugar from the other liquids can help keep my weight intact. I keep a 3-Liter bottle of water at my desk to remind me to drink and it helps me monitor my daily intake as well. I also try to keep healthy snacks with me at work such as fruit with high fiber or water content. Having the fruit available keeps me away from the vending machine and also helps me not over eat during lunch and detours me from stopping at quick food locations prior to arriving home for the evening.

Problem Area: Love handle/lower back area. I’ve always been a thicker guy so I’ve learned to embrace them because it’s going to be there. Besides, thus far, I haven’t received any complaints from those I date. They are actually the ones who made me feel more comfortable in my skin.

Key to Discipline: Don’t make excuses. Sometimes the best workouts happen when you rather not be in the gym. Also, as silly as it sounds, selfies help. Its an easy way to keep track of what you are looking like. As our own worst critic, we will notice any deviation from what we have worked so hard to achieve.

Workout Routine: I try to keep a variation ranging from heavy/low rep to light/high rep. I also like to incorporate HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) to assist with my cardio since I’m not fond of running for long periods of time. Also, try to incorporate 10 minutes of StairMaster at the beginning of my workout and three 15 second sprints on the treadmill (at incline of 15) at a speed that will push me and get my heart rate up.

3 Responses to ““Junk Food Journals:” Entry 10”

  1. Manu September 25, 2014 at 1:58 am #

    I’m turning 29 next November and I am also fitter than ever! Let’s get ready for 30 and thanks for sharing the experiences of these amazing men!

  2. Insanity Workout September 25, 2014 at 11:57 am #

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

Leave a Reply

