“Junk Food Journals:” Entry 11

30 Oct

If you could get full and stay fit off workout mantras then Entry 11 of “Junk Food Journals” will definitely keep you from devouring all the Halloween candy and tide you over till Thanksgiving. These hale bodied strapping men have all the knowledge and supreme thinpsiration on how to keep at and obtain the body of your dreams.

If you are a person just beginning your fitness journey or have gotten lost then binge on this! After reading these hearty entries I got a little more clarity on my currently fitness funk. From the aspirational to simply maintaining, each of these guys have a goal they are set on achieving. Its very motivating to know the bodies you admire the most started just like you.

Savor this quote,

“Be a better you mentally, physically, and health-wise than you were the day prior.” -Donnie Dae

MarkAnthony (1)

MarkAnthony (2)

MarkAnthony (3)
Hi! I’m MarkAnthony Ball-Ortiz (IG: AntonioTheStark). I’m 23 years old and living in Washington, DC. Growing up I’ve always been active, I played soccer, hockey, water polo and did karate. I became interested in weight training in high school when I made the varsity team. From there it’s been a very long on and off process. Since joining the Military in 2010, I’ve been addicted to going to the gym and staying fit. I workout 6 times a week with Sundays being my rest days. My overall fitness goal is to be Mr. Olympia in the Men’s Physique division.

Workout Philosophy: “Even Mr. Olympia had to start somewhere.”

*mind you, I eat 6 times a day because I have to gain weight. To be honest, my diet is a mix of what I’ve found from bodybuilding.com and some men’s physique friends.*

Breakfast:2 eggs, oatmeal, a bagel and a protein shake.

Lunch: Grilled chicken/salmon, brown rice and asparagus.

Dinner: Steak, rice, corn (cos I like it) and broccoli.

Cheat Day: Sundays… pizza and wings.

Diet Trick: NEVER missing a meal. Forcing yourself to eat sucks but you HAVE to. It’s a key part to fitness.

Problem Area: Chest. I have no weight in that area so gaining a chest is near impossible. I have to routinely do chest every other day.

Key to Discipline: I always ask myself, “how bad do you REALLY want this? You want this rain/snow/cold weather stop you from being Mr. Olympia?”

Workout Routine:
-M: Chest, Tris, abs.
-Tu: Back, bis, abs.
-Wed: Legs w/ body weight chest exercises. (IE: push ups, dips, etc.)
-Thurs: Shoulders, abs.
-Friday: HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training.)
-Sat: Chest, tris, abs.

Timothy Morrison (1)

Timothy Morrison (2)

Timothy Morrison (3)
Hey, it’s Tim here (IG: Thelasttitanofmars.) DMV native. 25 Years Old. My fitness journey started about three years ago, I was unhappy and needed a change and so I joined a gym and it’s been the best thing to happen to me since. Fitness is life. “I live and love to eat everything. Like a food fanatic”

Workout Philosophy: “Go as hard/fast as you can for as long as you can.”

Breakfast: Oatmeal- steel cut preferably. Slow digesting and full of protein. Add a little fresh fruit for flavor.

Lunch: Tuna salad, sandwich wraps or whatever. Quick to make and easy to prepare for when you haven’t meal planned. Go for the chunk white albacore!

Dinner: Chicken or salmon and a little brown rice and broccoli. Broccoli is my favorite.

Cheat Day: usually Sunday. I am careful not to overindulge these days so it’s usually something small.

Diet Trick: PAY ATTENTION TO EVERYTHING!!! DETAILS DETAILS DETAILS!

Problem Area: Lower back.

Key to Discipline: “You want to look good naked right…”

Workout Routine:
-M: Hamstrings Glutes Tri.
-Tues: Back and Biceps.
-Wed: Chest.
-Friday: Shoulders calves forearms.
-Sat: Go forth and play.

Donnie Dae (1)

Donnie Dae (2)

Donnie Dae (3)
My name is Donnie Dae (IG: Donniedae) I am an artist involved in filmmaking, writing, and modeling. I am an ectomorph (which means it is hard for me to gain weight) and am very much into fitness. Beyond being an artist and gym-rat, I love to read and watch movies (preferably surreal or old black and white horror films), and I am a big comic book geek (especially love my indie books)!

Workout Philosophy: Take pride in your body & self and improve yourself. Be a better you mentally, physically, and health-wise than you were the day prior.

Breakfast: I tend to have a big bowl of oatmeal with chocolate protein powder. If I have some time in the morning, about two hours later I’ll either make eggs or peanut butter sandwiches, about 4-5 of them. I also like to have some fruits (at least the ones I’m not allergic to).

Lunch/Dinner: I tend to stick to meats, mostly chicken. I love grilled chicken. I also have brown rice. I stay away from white rice, it helps that I don’t like the taste of it. If I had chicken for lunch, I’ll probably have fish (or tuna) based dinner. Or if I had fish for lunch, I’ll switch it up with some chicken. I also like to have some veggies. Here and there I’ll have me a beef or chicken patty and I love me some jerk chicken (which I don’t have as often as I’d like)!

Cheat Day: I tend to give myself a cheat day every once or twice a month. I’ll probably have a few slices of pizza or the spicy chicken meal from Wendys with a large frosty and large fries, haha. If I go to a diner, you can bet I’ll be having an order of fries with my meal (which is usually a bacon burger). I’m not really a fan of sweets, so cookies and cake or junk food is not an issue for me. My taste buds don’t seem to care for them so that works in my favor. Same with juices and soda. I don’t generally like juices too much and I hate soda. I tend to generally stick to mostly water. Despite the high sodium, I also love V8 veggie juice.

Diet Trick: As an ectomorph, I have to eat a lot in order to maintain any gains of mass. That also means that I have to consume a good amount of protein. Protein drinks and casein protein powders are a part of my Diet Tricks. Also, I tend to carry a large bottle or jar of nuts with me to consume in between meals or when I’m hungry and outside. If you really know me, especially in my personal life, you’ll see me a lot of times consuming peanuts from a jar as if I’m drinking from a bottle. I’ve even inspire people to do the same, haha.

Problem Area: My legs are by far my problem area. They are stubborn as all hell, especially my calves. I can be very self-conscious about them. But I’ve been working on them a lot more and trying to intensify my leg workouts. There has been progress but they don’t develop as much or as fast as my upper body. I will say, though, that within the past few months I have grown to love working out my legs and the usually dreaded “Leg Day” for most people has become my “Favorite Days of the Week.”

Key to Discipline: Well I know I suffer from having a male body image issue or complex, whoever one brands or calls it. I was teased as a kid for being skinny and even up to college I would still be bothered by comments about my body (even though I still worked out). That has affected me to this day where I look into the mirror and still see that skinny frail kid so I’m always trying to “perfect” my body or get bigger in some form. I can be a little self-deprecating but I do know I have come a long way and that helps me to push and keep motivating myself.

My best friend and workout partner is also a key to my discipline. Days I may not have the drive, he pushes me and I’ve come a long way due to that. My pops is also a fitness guy and he was the one who got me into weight lifting and exercising to begin with, so he also acts as a motivator.

Another key to my discipline is also having pride in myself. While I may see that skinny kid, I can still see myself in another form where I can say that I do love my body and I love how I’ve been able to sculpt it. I love to do research on fitness and that helps with motivation, especially looking at my peers around me in the modeling world/circle. Being into modeling has pushed me not only due to my peers, but also fans or the people who look up to me and follow my work. I’ve had plenty of messages from people who tell me I inspire them and motivate them and that makes me feel good because as an artist, hearing you inspire someone really makes you feel great and makes you feel like people understand you in a certain fashion.

My advice for Discipline: Be proud of yourself, even if you may not feel your body is on point. Be proud of yourself but push and push to be a better person mentally and physically than you were the day or two priors. Keep breathing, keep appreciating, keep learning, and keep growing. Hell, even think of yourself as a Sex God who needs to maintain his or her power, if that helps.

Workout Routine: I work out for about 3-6 days a week. On one day I’ll focus on biceps and back while I focus on chest and triceps (or shoulders) the next day. Abs and leg work outs for whichever of those days. But that being said, those being my general “base” routine days, I tend to switch my routines around in order to confuse my body and get results. I try to switch the different work outs for body parts that way those parts don’t get too accustomed to a specific work out. I also like to give myself a “Neglect Day” which is where I’ll use that day to work out on body parts that I find myself neglecting or I have neglected that week for a particular reason. I’ve been doing legs about 2-3 days a week now (or whenever my legs recover, I jump back into a leg work out). I’ll also mix calisthenics with weights or sometimes just do a body weight and calisthenics day. Before each and every work out I stretch for about 20-30 minutes and try to improve on my flexibility.

One Response to ““Junk Food Journals:” Entry 11”

  1. Theodolph L. Mason October 30, 2014 at 11:24 am #

    LOVE ‘Junk Food Journals’. I always feel inspired after seeing great bodies and reading secrets.

Leave a Reply

