“Sustaining Skinny:” My New Year’s Resolution.

5 Jan

???????????
Five days late but while you were out planning on doing it, I already did it- Happy New Year! My only resolution this year is to be consistent.

Not just in one thing but every facet of my life; faith, fitness and finances. I want to keep the momentum I vowed on the first day of the year to propel me throughout the year that will ultimately translate into being a better person and more successful at all my endeavors.

???????????
I could make a list of resolutions of trivial things that I want to change however, without consistency all those pseudo-goals will go in vain. I have been shaming myself and blaming all my shortcoming, missed opportunities and fails on procrastination. After pledging to excel pass that as last year’s resolution I realized procrastination wasn’t my problem or what was holding me back. Along with poor time management I fail to remain consistent once I’ve met a goal or seen results. I get things done and actually do all the things that come to my mind or “talk” about but I don’t do what it takes to maintain all the hard work and time I put into something. My inconsistency have left bridges uncrossed with friends & family, excess weight regained, sweats as my stationary uniform and budget forgone. Then, I’m back to being mentally and emotionally disheveled trying to find a starting place to get everything back on track.

To make a resolution and to be successful at upholding it is 100% being honest with yourself about your imperfections and weakness to pool your strengths. Only you know what you’re capable of therefore your plan for success should be foolproof. Life happens, that understandable but what are you doing to keep it from getting in the way of your aspirations? I’m beyond comparing myself to others, question my talents, wondering what if and limiting myself to circumstances. This time it’s all about doing the work so I can have everything I want.

???????????
We can’t break ourselves down into singular categories when we are so much more and it will take all of our being to plan and accomplish what it is we desire. I sometimes can be too involved in the details of a problem to look at the situation as a whole: I become completely succumb in trying to figure out where I went wrong to get off track that I couldn’t see the forest for the trees; not realizing that it wasn’t something I done but something I didn’t continue to do.

No matter what keep at it; unless it’s eating, then give that up. Now that’s a real new year’s resolution.

???????????

???????????

2 Responses to ““Sustaining Skinny:” My New Year’s Resolution.”

  1. Desmond January 5, 2015 at 1:43 pm #

    This post resonated with me inwhich I thought time management was always the cause me not accomplishing goals. I was wrong. I finally realized that whenever life would threw me an unknown factor or obstacle I wouls lose focus. Sometimes goving up on the goal because I was do distraught. After countless cyclyes of this detrimental behavior I’ve learned to work through the obstacles and persevere towards my goals. Thank you. Your transparency is refreshing and appreciated.

    • BougieHippie January 6, 2015 at 1:06 am #

      Desmond, I completely understand your plight I use to be the same way where I would let one bad happening spoil my day. Thats when I learn the world doesnt stop without you. My dad use to annoy me with pushing me even when he sees I’m having a hard day. He would give me one day to sulk and ask “now what?” I had to learn to roll with the punches, set a daily plan and use my task or goals to escape from whatever sucky moment that may have happened. Life is tough, duh but are you willing to fight or lay down because rent is still due and you job will soon be up for grabs.

Leave a Reply

