“Bare Bones.” PFW: Paul Smith

26 Jan

Paul Smith FW14

I’m a simple man. All I want to be is skinny or just look it. Thank you Paul Smith for understanding my meager wants in such a gigantic (silhouette-wise) collection.

I normally expect an kitschy feel of bright colors and some fun three-dimensional textiles in 60’s cuts from Paul Smith however, this collection during Paris Menswear Fashion Week Fall/Winter 2015 was a tone down geometric swollen natural hued show.

The cuts are very generous and how the pants gallop down the runway are perfect for pulling off the oversized look. This time pulling from the 80’s with the cube ombre color-blocking and shoulder pads this almost nomadic collection covered in fur is refined and laid back. The sweaters are my favorite and of course I love me a full length coat, even the puffer coats.

I consider this collection a great way to tame a rather “cozy” collection of easy layers, roomy coats and coarse colors making is chic. This is a collection you can mix with denim and sneakers to give your dressy look a bit more ease or your relax look a bit more sophistication.

Leave a Reply

