“What I’m Wearing to Fat’s Funeral.” PFW: Thom Browne

26 Jan

Thom Browne FW15

I have never been more excited to lose this winter weight until viewing this Thom Browne collection. I’m ready to murder these daily goals on my Google Fit, mascara these yoga classed and bury these love handles. Although, I won’t be in mourning like the beautiful themes of this dark dapper show but to celebrate the skinny.

Thom Browne is an American couturier (in my opinion). His approach to fashion is business minded clothing, architecture structure tailoring and graphic novel whimsical. He has a way with fabric that not only challenge your idea of the business suit but taste level. To some these items may seem over-the-top but simply viewing the blazers and overcoats, I’m totally ready for an all black moment. I’m really not a fan of black but the paring with the blue is awesome so, I’m wavering.

This collection is art and a well written novel at it’s best, Browne deserves all the accolades he has been receiving. Are you taking in those hat/veils and the bare legs!? An exact rendering of the futuristic dandy.

I am overly enjoying the androgyny play on menswear mixed with women’s wear (the fur, the bag and the long dress like overcoat). There aren’t nary a textile unused, the detailing is theatrical and delicate but the tailoring is strong and structural. An overall magnificent collection that is crafted well, showcase great imagery, all the while sexy yet a bit morose.

Leave a Reply

