À la carte

2 Feb

The Solitary Roamer_009 Photographed & Edited by: Theodolph Mason

Are you the same YOU when no one is around verse when you’re in a room full of close friends, admirers and onlookers? Is everything you do for show while the more relaxed you rather not do anything at all?

I can honestly say that I’m myself no matter the atmosphere or audience, if any. So much so that I have had it held against me when I’m unmoved in my preferences or when people make assumptions that just because of I how grew up should dictate how I carry myself or interact with people.

I understand when leaving the comfort of your own home we are to put our best foot forward but how many people are lying to themselves in the efforts to achieve notoriety by being the complete opposite of who you would be more comfortable being. Granted as we get older and experience the never ending treadmill we call life we are to be developing new taste, mental stability and a new found confidence.

My personality is multifaceted that’s why it always a challenge for me to stay true to myself and not cheat myself by being someone I’m not. The only way of getting to the end of the road to start the new journey of a better YOU is to be transparent. I’m not implying to wear your heart on your sleeve, be rude or gullible but to be strong, honest and determine.

The other day I was talking with a friend about dieting and why people fail. I mention that they lie to themselves by setting unrealistic goals, lying about their weight & size and cheating. Rather than just asking for help or simply work towards being happy with who they are now they will continue to lie to keep from admitting that they aren’t doing the work. The only way to get over hurdles is to honest about your shortcoming so that you can figure out your strengthens. That will set you apart and make you more secure with who you are so that you wont be putting on a show for people.

Even in relationship it’s important to be the YOU that makes its easy for you to sleep at night. Some people may not get it but that just makes room in your life for people who will.

“The true test of a man’s character is what he does when no one is watching.”
― John Wooden

I am always learning something new about myself everyday but that comes with being truthful and open with myself first over expecting people to dictate who I should be. I try to live my life in a way that not matter what you say to my family or friends if it doesn’t coincide with who they know me to be the won’t believe otherwise. The only way to achieve that is to be ME 24/7 howbeit, a real audience or the imagine one I pretend my sofa pillows to be when I’m fake interviewing myself.

I’m not clueless to the fact that a lot of advancement and worldly achievement rely on reputation which is important too. However, it’s dire to your well-being to be concerned with your character because that’s who really are and when things start to crumble or unravel you don’t have the stress of trying to keep the facade. While your reputation is merely what others think you are.

I mean… you can think I’m a jerk all day but I’m still a size 32 going on 28 right after I post this and go for my second 10 mile run of the day.

The Solitary Roamer_041

The Solitary Roamer_014

The Solitary Roamer_036

The Solitary Roamer_001

The Solitary Roamer_020

The Solitary Roamer_038

The Solitary Roamer_010

The Solitary Roamer_012

The Solitary Roamer_015

The Solitary Roamer_017

The Solitary Roamer_023

The Solitary Roamer_022

The Solitary Roamer_032

The Solitary Roamer_008

Hooded Cape: Zara $90.76
Ribbed Turtleneck: Zara $25.90
Denim: Levis 511 Macy’s $58
Hunt-In Man Boots: Kenneth Cole (owned since 2011)
Accessories: (bracelets; MK, Hollister, Giles & Brother and Sunstone)

Leave a Reply

